British Sessional Papers and Parliamentary Debates: Parliamentary Debates

When using the printed indexes to the Parliamentary Debates, note the typeface of page references. Page numbers in italics refer to a separate page sequence in the latter half of the volume that includes "Written Answers to Questions." Also, page number are actually column numbers, each column of the Debates being designated with its own number.

For example: [914] 186, 35 indicates volume 914, column 186 in the main body, and column 35 in the Written Answers section. (Italicized numbers always refer to the Written Answers section.) NOTE: Individual Debates volumes contain at least two separate pagination sequences.

By dates covered:

• 1803-1908
  General Index. 1803-1830: Cumulative volume.1830-1908: Index in last vol(s) of each session. Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collections, J 301 .H22.
• 1983/84 - 2000
  Sessional Information Digest.
  Print edition: Library Annex J 301 .H235 +.
• 1995 - present
  Sessional Information Digest [Open Access]
• 1977-2001 (incomplete)
  Source: Weekly information bulletin
  Print edition: Olin Stacks J 301 .K85
• 10/19/1996 - present
  Source: Weekly information bulletin [Open Access]

Sources, by dates of coverage:

• 1066-1802
  Source: Parliamentary History of England. (aka Cobbett) (Retrospective cumulation in 36 volumes.)
  Location/Call Number: Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collections (RMC) J 301 .H2. Stored at Library Annex, but accessible only in RMC.
• 1667-1694 (parallel coverage)
  Source(s): Grey's Debates of the House of Commons
  In British History Online. House of Commons. Grey's Debates
• 1668-1739 (parallel coverage)
  Source: A Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England.... (aka Torbuck's Debates)
  In Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• 1743-1774 (parallel coverage)
  Source: The History, Debates, and Proceedings of both Houses of Parliament of Great Britain from the Year 1743 to the year 1774.... (aka Almon's/Debrett's reissue of Almon's)
  (7 vols.)
  In Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
  Print version: Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collections, J 301 .H28 stored at Library Annex, but accessible only in RMC.
• 1775-1796 (parallel coverage)
  Source: The Parliamentary Register; or, History of the Proceedings and Debates of the [House of Lords and House of Commons],.... (aka Almon's). (71 vols.)
  Print edition: Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collections (RMC), J 301 .H195 [sic, .H192 on spine]; stored at Library Annex, but accessible only in RMC.
• 1803-1908
  Source: Parliamentary Debates. (aka Hansard)(Bound sessional cumulations)
  Print edition: Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collections, J 301 .H22; stored at Library Annex, but accessible only in RMC.
• 1828-1840 (parallel coverage)
  Source: Mirror of Parliament. (alternative source of debate text). Print edition: Kroch Rare & Manuscript Collections (RMC) J 301 .H18 ++ .
• 1909 - 2016
  Source: Parliamentary Debates: Official Reports. Bound sessional cumulations; no paper updates. Indexed in last vol(s) of session.
  Print edition: Library Annex J 301 .H23.