Finding Current News Articles
While there are many databases and websites with access to today's news, we recommend starting with these two:
- Press Reader: full-text, full-color versions of last 60 days of hundreds of newspapers
- Google News
- Also check out the Library's News Research: Finding the News research guide
Finding Full-Text of Articles
You want the full text of articles, right? There are several ways to find them.
- Use the Get it! Cornell links wherever you see them!
- If you have citations for specific articles: check the Library Catalog to see if we subscribe to the journals that contain the articles. Do a Journal Title
search (or a Journal Title Abbreviation search if you're not sure of
the full title). The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to
the electronic version and/or the print version.
- If we don't have it, we can get it for you in a few days! Request articles via Interlibrary Loan.
In any event, Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!
Good Databases for Popular Articles
A number of databases (collections of articles) at the library will let you search thousands of news and magazine articles at once. The ones listed below are a few of the most popular, and they all have most of the articles in full text online.
-
ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It comprises two components: a core list of periodicals covering about 800 publications, and 15 subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules cover arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Full text of many articles is provided.
-
Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
-
Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
-
Lexis-NexisProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
-
FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.