ASRC 1843: FWS: Africana's Oceans: Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles are written by authorities in a field, usually faculty members at a college or university. 

The database you use to find scholarly articles will depend on the subject you are researching. Below are some good examples of databases.  Web of Science and Google Scholar  cover multiple disciplines, while Sociological Abstracts covers journals in sociology and related social science fields.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory: Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications, together with search and browse indexes. It also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers.

For a complex listing of databases click here.

You want the full text of articles, right? There are several ways to find them.

• Use the Get it! Cornell links wherever you see them!
  
• If you have citations for specific articles: check the Library Catalog to see if we subscribe to the journals that contain the articles. Do a Journal Title search (or a Journal Title Abbreviation search if you're not sure of the full title). The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to the electronic version and/or the print version.
  
• If we don't have it, we can get it for you in a few days! Request articles via Interlibrary Loan.

In any event, Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!