Use our Catalog to Find Books and Journals
Connect to the Cornell Library Catalog
About our Library Catalog
This catalog includes the holdings of all the Cornell University libraries. The catalog contains records for books, computer files, government documents, manuscripts and archives, maps, musical scores, periodicals, serials, sound recordings, and visual materials.
Library of Congress Classification outline
An outline of the call numbers used to shelve books in the library and the general topics they represent.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
The Cornell University Library uses Library of Congress subject headings as the standard for subject searching. Unlike keyword searching, where any term or wording of a topic will usually yield results, subject searching by subject heading requires you to use the exact wording of a Library of Congress heading to retrieve search results.
Subject Headings for this class include:
- Borges, Jorge Luis
- Cortazar, Julio
- Fuentes, Carlos
- García Márquez, Gabriel
- Quiroga, Horacio
- Rulfo, Juan
Finding Short Stories
Finding Individual Short Stories published in anthologies and collections
Short Story Index. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1915- .
This database is split into two pieces, Short Story Index, 1983 to date (linked above), and Short Story Index Retrospective covering 1915-1983. To search both pieces together, click the Choose Databases link at the top of the search page and check both titles.
These databases index short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index. Access to many of these periodicals (may be Cornell-only access) is available online in our Library Catalog.