Defining an Industry
Industries are typically defined by the North American Industry Classification System, or NAICS. NAICS codes are 6 digit numbers, where each digit indicates a slightly more specific industry.
For example:
33 = Manufacturing
327 = Nonmetallic Mineral Product Manufacturing
3272 = Glass and Glass Product Manufacturing
327211 = Flat Glass Manufacturing
When researching the industry, we can find information about the five forces, trends, competitors and much more by using the six digit code correctly.
Many companies will be part of multiple industries, and as a result will have several NAICS codes. Look at the main company profile page in Hoover's to get an idea of which industries a company is part of.
Specialized Industry and Market Research tools
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.
- Mintel AcademicOffers yearly market research reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets for products, markets and demographics. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more.
- PassportExcellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.
- Frost & SullivanIn-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation. Covers 1998 to present, updated as new reports are produced.
Company Research Tools
- Capital IQA unique platform combing detailed information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services and brokerage.
- Mergent IntellectMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg is a powerful and customizable financial Research tool with data for almost all publicly traded companies around the world, trading data for commodities, currencies, bonds, treasuries and notes, news, executive information and much more. Bloomberg is also one of the few resources that provides detailed and extensive historical securities data, often down to individual ticks.
Mann has 2 Bloomberg terminals located on the main level in the computing area (in the Business Resources section). Due to popular demand, there are sign-up sheets in binders next to the terminals. Bloomberg terminals can also be found in the Management Library and the Hotel Library.
For more information on how to use Bloomberg, take a look at the Management Library's Guide on "How To: Bloomberg".