Skip to main content

Finding Funding: Home

A brief overview of federal, state and foundation grant funding sources. Useful for anyone at Cornell, including Cooperative Extension staff.

Overview

There are three main places to look for grant funding outside of Cornell: the US government, state government, and private foundations and corporations.  While there are many resources out there for finding this funding, this guide points you to the major tool for each funding source.  Federal grants=Grants.gov; NYS grants=New York State Grants Gateway; and foundations=Foundations Directory.  Note that more and more recently, the Foundation Directory is indexing federal grants.  In addition, GrantForward indexes both federal and private/corporate funding sources.

In addition to those 4 traditional sources of funding, you may be interested in exploring the possibilities for crowd funding.

Here are a few  broader overviews of funding resources available online and in print:

Grant Forward

Grant Forward:  starting in July, 2012, Cazoodle took over the hosting and managing of an improved version of the University of Illinois IRIS grant search service. The new platform, called Grant Forward, features enhanced search and user account interfaces as well as new tools to help institutions annotate and disseminate grant information.  A mix of funding sources:  federal, foundation, academic, and more.  You can also set up a personal profile and save searches, which you can't do in Foundation Directory.

New York State

New York State Grants Gateway

Provides one-stop shopping for anyone interested in locating grant funding opportunities with State agencies.

  • Browse a list of funding opportunities
  • Search for info about a particular funding opportunity 
  • Register for automatic notifications of upcoming funding opportunities.

Ebooks on Crowd Funding

Private Foundations and Corporations (plus Federal)

The Foundation Center directory professional contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.  Free to CCE through Mann Library services.

Foundation Directory Tutorial Webinar Recording:  2012 Webinar Recording:  learn how to use the FOundation Directory to find Grant Makers and Grants for your CCE programs.

Federal Government

Grants.gov

Guide to funding from various U.S. government agencies, including

  • NEH
  • Institute of Peace
  • NASA
  • Department of Education
  • National Science Foundation

Crowd Funding Websites

Well known crowd funding sites include GoFundMeKivaKickstarterIndiegogo, and RocketHub, but there are hundreds of other sites as well.

Jim Morris-Knower

Jim Morris-Knower
Contact:
Mann Library. 255-6197