Skip to main content

Engineering Library Faculty Visits: Home

This guide lists useful URLs for new faculty. Email Jill Powell, jhp1@cornell.edu with suggestions.

20 Important Things to Know

Useful URLs

Recommended Tools and Resources from Cornell's Engineering Library

Engineering Library
http://engineering.library.cornell.edu

includes links to many databases including:
Scopus, Web of Science, PubMed 
Inspec/Compendex
Derwent Innovations Index 
IEEE Xplore
Knovel Data Search

Databases A-Z

Google Scholar Preferences - set so that Google recognizes you as a Cornell person, and knows what you have access to. Go to Settings/Library Links/Cornell so Get It Links appear for Full Text.

Passkey Off-campus? Log in once with this browser bookmarklet that connects you to all the Library's databases and journals with a single Cornell log-in.

ORCID - set your ORCID id and Scopus ID to establish a persistent unique identifier for you and ensures your work is linked to you. Required by some publishers and funders. For assistance, contact orcid-help@cornell.edu

Citation Management - Keep track of your references, format bibliographies in thousands of styles. Mendeley, Zotero, Endnote, Papers. Email engrref@cornell.edu for instructions for premium upgrade for Mendeley.

Scholars@Cornell - database of Cornell expertise and scholarship.

Rapid delivery of books not owned by Cornell from Borrow Direct and scanned articles from Interlibrary loan.

Stay Current - with JournalTOCS. - have tables of contents from journals in your field delivered to your email.

Digital Privacy - resources available for helping with privacy, security, and encryption.

Course Reserves at Uris Library  - okureserve@cornell.edu

Cornell Library catalog - http://www.library.cornell.edu

Library research guides - guides.library.cornell.edu/engr
Subjects (patents, citation management) and tailored to individual classes, systematic reviews

Spark Talks - Scholars talking about research and knowledge -  grad students polishing elevator speeches

Computing Software map - http://mapping.cit.cornell.edu/publiclabs/map/index.cfm

Computer labs, group study, Maker Suites - labs.cit.cornell.edu/request-a-lab, http://guides.library.cornell.edu/makerspaces​

Researcher ID (Web of Science)

Google Scholar citations profile

Cornell Data Research Management Services Group - help with NSF data plan mandate
http://data.research.cornell.edu/

Systematic Reviews in Engineering - support provided by librarians

Digital Consulting & Production Services - http://dcaps.library.cornell.edu

Sherpa Romeo - publishers and journal copyright policies
http://www.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo.php

eCommons - Cornell's digital archive
http://ecommons.library.cornell.edu

Directory of Open Access Journals
http://www.doaj.org

Cornell Open-Access Publication Fund
http://www.library.cornell.edu/compact/coap.html

Copyright Management
http://www.copyright.cornell.edu/

 

Jill Powell

Jill Powell's picture
Jill Powell
Contact:
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
jhp1@cornell.edu
engrref@cornell.edu
607-255-8701
Subjects:Engineering