This is the "Databases and
e-Books" page of the "CHEME 4620: Chemical Process Design (Spring 2014)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEME 4620: Chemical Process Design (Spring 2014)   Tags: chemical_engineering, course_guide, course_guides, engineering, engineering_course_guide, patents  

Guide to searching chemical information, chemical prices, articles, news, and patents.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/cheme4620 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases and e-Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Top Databases

 

Resource Description

Databases A-Z

    Information Resources for Engineering Students

  • Research articles - video on scholarly vs. popular
  • Product and design information
  • News and trade journal articles
  • Books, Patents
  • It's not all in Google or Google Scholar so check out Databases A-Z

Cornell Library Catalog has records for 8 million books, Summon for article searching, and thousands of journals. Summon includes many ebook collections but lacks the complete coverage of INSPEC, Compendex, and Web of Science.


 Now available through Access Engineering (McGraw-Hill). No   longer on Knovel. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering —from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.

Not available through Knovel, Kirk-Othmer is online separately through Wiley. Once connected, click Search in the book. Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry        Includes over 1,000 articles relating to industrial chemistry. Note "search in this book" feature to optimize searching.
ICIS Chemical Hub Page for Students, Academics Historical chemical prices, news, blogs, etc.
2,000 technical e-books, including chemical engineering. Can browse by subject. All McGraw-Hill books, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, have moved to Access Engineering.
Access Engineering has hundreds of McGraw-Hill books and instructional videos, Includes Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Biofuels Engineering Process Technology, and Schaum's Outlines.
  CRC EngNetBase (also NanoNetbase, ChemNetBase) 2,000 books by CRC and Taylor & Francis, including 210 books in chemical engineering (ChemicalEngineeringNetBase).

Google Patents
 is a good source for U.S. patents, U.S. applications, and European patents.
Patent Lens contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia.
  Engineering Village (or Compendex) searches scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex and INSPEC simultaneously. Over 50% of the database indexes chemical engineering journals and conferences.
OnePetro has articles published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers.
Must create a free login. SciFinder indexes chemical patents as well as the chemical research literature. Provides manufacturer websites for chemicals. Click Explore Substances, then Substance Identifie to see manufacturers.
Journals

Search Journals on this page and in the Library Catalog. Ex. see OGJ Subscriber Surveys in Oil and Gas Journal.

Nelson & Farrar Cost Index

Full text business magazines, including Chemical Week. Search for CW Price Report, be sure to select Full text searching.

CEIC Data contains economic and commodity production data. Click on Search, select data, add keywords. can export to Excel.

Factiva has full text magazines and newspapers, including Platt's commodity news, Dow Jones news. See screencast.
Lexis Nexis has full text magazines and newspapers, including Chemical News, Chemical Week, Platt's publications. Easier to use than Factiva.
         Something for stress-reduction - Overdrive has popular online books available for check-out onto your electronic devices.

Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
Jill Powell
Contact Info
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
607 255-8701
Send Email
 

Management Library

Management Library Research Team

Contact Info:
101 Sage Hall
The Johnson School
Cornell University
607-255-3389
Send Email

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip