Skip to main content

MUSIC 1341: Gamelan in Indonesian History and Cultures: Kroch Asia Library Resources

A guide to library resources for Music 1341: Gamelan in Indonesian History and Cultures

Asia Collections Website

Kroch Asia Library Resources

START HERE WITH OUR WEBPAGE ON INDONESIA RESOURCES:

https://asia.library.cornell.edu/collections/echols/indonesia

 

Here are some resources from that page to focus on:

Try this book for a good place to start when doing research on Indonesia. Be certain to read the Introduction to the Bibliography (pages 555-564) and see the bibliography that follows (pages 564-667):

Historical Dictionary of Indonesia (3rd edition)  by Audrey Kahin     
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, [2015]
Paper Copy: 
Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Circulating) DS633 .C75x 2015 

Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9917119

 

Here is an older (1994) but useful research book containing annotated title listings of major and standard sources of information covering a large range of topics:

Indonesia by Gerald H. Krausse and Sylvia Engelen Krausse
Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : 
Clio Press, ©1994.
Paper Copy 1: 
Kroch Library Asia Reference (Non-Circulating) DS615 .K73 1994 Note: Shelved in dictionary stand by Asia desk.   
Paper Copy 2: 
Kroch Library Asia Z3271 .K728w 1994Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9567886

 

Leiden Catalog

The Leiden Catalog is a great place to look for additional resources on Indonesia

 

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database references mostly western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. This is a good place to start for articles.

 

 Southeast Asia Digital Library 

Contains a number of resources about Southeast Asia, including a specific page for Indonesia.

 

Bibliography of Performing Arts In The East

You might also find some sources on music in Indonesia here
 

 

 

Web Accessibility Assistance