Top Choices
Click on the databases link on the Library Homepage to connect to databases directly.
- ERICERIC is a web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature.
- Proquest Social Science PremiumThe ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection combines our discipline specific collections in politics and sociology, with powerful resources that cut across the entire spectrum of the social sciences. This Collection enriches the discipline by providing more coverage on applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
- Sociology Source UltimateAn expanded version of SocINDEX, including greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive coverage encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.”
- AnthropologyPlusAnthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
More Article Databases for In-Depth Research
- Applied Social Sciences Index and AbstractsASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
- PAIS InternationalContains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese.
- Social Sciences Citation IndexPart of the Web of Science database. In addition to subject, author, journal, and/or author address, can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work.
Articles and Full Text
Use the Articles & Full Text search on the library homepage.
It provides access to nearly 800 million items, including scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, ebook chapters and audio/visual resources. Can be a convenient place to start. Easy to search and there are many direct links to full text. Use 'filters' in left panel to narrow search results. However, the results can still be too large with too many irrelevant citations.
RECOMMENDATION: Use this to refine your search terms and then utilize the more specialized databases listed above.