Skip to main content

International Cities: Information & Statistics: Data
 

This guide focuses on resources that provide difficult-to-find data and other information about individual cities outside the United States, including some comparative sources. I have excluded country-level data and information resources.

International City Data

Cities and Buildings Database.
Visual data. "A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web." [Home page]

EIU CityData.
Contains pricing information on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide. You can check everything from the cost of a loaf of bread in Adelaide to the average electricity bill of a local family in Zurich. Update frequency: Twice a year. Click on the CityData link at the bottom of the EIU home page.

Europa World Plus
The Country Statistics/Area and Population section has city populations for each country as of the most recent census or estimate. Current directory of major institutions and governmental organizations.

Demographia.
Rich data in a variety of topics on large urban areas (e.g. urban development, urban land use policies) as well as census data from different countries.

Global City Indicators Facility: Participating Cities.
The Global City Indicators Facility provides an established set of city indicators with a globally standardized methodology that allows for global comparability of city performance and knowledge sharing. This website serves all cities that become members to measure and report on a core set of indicators through this web-based relational database. Not all the data are available for public use, but the Participating Cities section is open.

Metropolis.
The web site of the World Association of major metropolitan cities and regions (population over one million). Provides data about urban agglomerations, cities population, and urban growth as well as a number of links to urban-related web sites.

Passport GMID: Cities.
Also know as Euromonitor International. Cornell authenication required and acceptance of use terms. Then click on the Cities link in the Search column. Passport GMID: Cities provides fully-comparable data and in-depth analysis on 850 of the world’s largest cities.

UN-HABITAT City Profiles.
Developed by the U.N. Human Settlements Program. Provides city profiles as of 2001 about world cities. The data include social and economic development, environmental management and other indicators.

UN HABITAT's Global Urban Observatory.
See particularly the 2009 report Global Urban indicators-Selected Statistics. Includes longitudinal data in tables for some indicators from 1950 through 2025 estimates.

United Nations Population Information Network: World Urbanization Prospects.
Developed by the United Nations Population Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Provides longitudinal data on urbanization on the country level.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO