Skip to main content

Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: A Research Guide: Primary Sources:
Databases & Microforms

A guide to discovering the extensive FGSS resources available in the Cornell University Library and beyond. Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Databases and Microform Collections

African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century. New York: New York Public Library, 1999.
Full Text
A digital collection of some fifty-two published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is key-word-searchable. Each individual title as well as the entire database can be searched to determine what these women had to say about "family", "religion", "slavery" or any other subject of interest to the researcher or casual reader. [Introduction]

 

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment.
Full Text
Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America from 1534 to 1850. Care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways: for example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

 

The Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online, 1543-1945.
Full Text
The Gerritsen Collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s. The online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. It includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in fifteen languages, and is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators.

 

HEARTH: Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History. Ithaca, NY: Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University, 2003. [http://hearth.library.cornell.edu/]
Full Text
A full text archive projected to include over 1,500 popular and scholarly books, as well as magazine and journal runs, mostly from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Subject areas include applied arts and design; food and nutrition; home economics; housing, furnishings and equipment; hygiene; retail and consumer studies; clothing and textiles; home management; child care and human development; and institutional management. Books were selected by a panel of scholarly reviewers and include works from various libraries, including Cornell's. Freely available over the Internet. The full text of both books and articles will be searchable by author, title, and keyword.

 

Human Sexuality Collection.
Collection Guide/Full Text
What is in the Collection, an overview of the Human Sexuality Collection from Brenda Marston, the Curator.

 

Jewish Women's Archive.
Full Text
The Virtual Archive offers information on hundreds of women, women's organizations, and manuscript collections, along with a rich array of primary source material.

 

Ladies of Llangollen: Letters and Journals of Lady Eleanor Butler (1739-1829) and Sarah Ponsonby (1755-1831) from the National Library of Wales [microfilm].
Microform Collection & Guide; (Olin Library Film 7025; 5 reels
Film 7025 in Olin Library consists of five reels of microfilm. A printed guide to this collection is available on the microform guide shelves in Olin Reference.  This collection is a vital source of primary documents on this important partnership and the literary circle that they created. Known as the Hamwood Papers, formerly in the possession of the Hamilton family of Hamwood, Dunboyne, co Meath, they are extensive. Valuable for anyone writing on Romantic Friendship, the Gothic Pastoral Ideal, 18th Century Literary Circles and the Romantic Movement.

 

Medieval and Early Modern Women [microfilm]. Marlborough [England]: Adam Matthew Publications, 2000- .
(Olin Library Film 8263; parts 1-2 = reels 1-26)
Microform Collection & Guide
For details, see Microfilm Guide 8263 on the microform guide shelves in Olin Reference.

 

New Jersey Women's History. New Brunswick: Rutgers University, 2001.
Full Text
New Jersey Women's History "is a resource for students, teachers, and all interested people who want to know more about the history of New Jersey women. Because New Jersey women's history is a young field, it is constantly growing and changing. This web site will do the same, so it can keep up with new information and research and update existing information. It is designed by the Women's Project of New Jersey (WPNJ) in collaboration with the Margery Somers Foster Center, Special Collections/Archives, the Scholarly Communications Center at Rutgers University Libraries in New Brunswick, and the New Jersey Historical Society in Newark." [Home page] Includes a bibliography on New Jersey women's history.

 

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Records, 1973-2000 [microfilm]. Woodbridge, CT: Primary Source Microfilm, 2001- .
(Olin Library Film 8256; 298 reels)
Microform Collection & Guide
Filmed from the holdings of the Human Sexuality Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library, which owns the original material. "The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force collection consists of correspondence, press clippings, financial and administrative records, subject files, and photographs that, taken together, provide a broad overview of the American movement for lesbian and gay civil rights from 1973 to 2000." (From the Collection Overview, p. xii, of the extensive 343-page guide--Olin film 8256 guide, shelved in Olin Reference--which documents the collection.)

 

North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950.
Full Text/Indexes
Full-text database of letters and diaries of women who lived in North America before 1950. The collection includes about 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. More than 1,500 biographies of the diarists and letter-writers enhance the database. Browsing and searching available for both a rich set of bibliographic fields and subjects and the complete text of these primary sources.

 

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period.
Full Text
Contains over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women written between 1789 and 1832, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars. Includes a critical introduction and a bibliographical essay.

 

Sex & Sexuality, 1640-1940 [microfilm]: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspectives. [Marlborough, Wilshire, England]: Adam Matthew Publications, [1998].
(Olin Film 7084; Part 1, 15 reels)
Microform Collection
Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, London. This series sets out to provide the raw material for the dialogue already started by Roy Porter and Lesley Hall in The Facts of Life: The Creation of Sexual Knowledge in Britain, 1650-1950. Editor's Introduction to Part 1.

 

Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Collection, 1848-1920. Washington: Library of Congress, 1999.
Full Text
"The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. They are a subset of the Library's larger collection donated by Carrie Chapman Catt, longtime president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, in November of 1938. The collection includes works from the libraries of other members and officers of the organization including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, Mary A. Livermore." [Home page] A searchable full-text collection, part of the American Memory project. Includes a timeline and a selected bibliography.

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000. Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin, editors. Scholar's edition. Alexandria, VA: Alexander Street Press; Binghamton, NY: Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender at the State University of New York, Binghamton.
Full Text
The Scholar's Edition includes all features of the Basic Edition that have been published since March 2004. It currently includes 72 document projects with 2,100 documents, 28,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,600 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. This edition also includes the Women's Commission reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present. A future release of the Scholar's Edition will also include the full text of the complete five volumes of Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, available for the first time in electronic form.

 

Women's Lives and Politics: Microform Collections in the Cornell University Library. Suzy Palmer and Brenda Marston. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Library, 1999.
Collection Guide
The views and activities of leaders of various women's movements, in the United States and internationally, are documented in microfilm collections available in Cornell's libraries. Collections also document women's engagement in the anti-slavery, peace, and labor movements. Additionally, they can provide windows into women's daily lives, friendships and relationships, and identities. Offering a wealth of material for scholarly investigation, these sets reproduce the official records of women's political organizations, contemporary media accounts of feminist activities, as well as the personal papers and diaries of individuals.

 

For microform sets housed in Olin Library, the microform guides are shelved in the Reference Collection, arranged by their film or fiche guide number. The microfilm reels and microfiche are in the microforms area on the B Level of Olin Library.