Skip to main content

Polling and Public Opinion Data: A Research Guide: Print Sources of
U.S. Data

Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

US: Print & CD-ROM Sources

American Public Opinion Index. Louisville, KY: Opinion Research Service, 1981-2000.
(Olin Stacks HM 261 .A1 A51)
This index lists the texts of the questions asked in opinion polls administered nationwide, statewide, and locally. A cumulative index covers 1981-1985. Partially superseded by the online version, Polling the Nations, 1986 to date. Note that time series data is available in the fiche set that is not online, including years otensibly covered by the online database.

American Public Opinion Data. Louisville, KY: Opinion Research Service, 1981-2000.
(Olin Microfiche 877, Lower Level)
Microfiche companion to American Public Opinion Index. Contains complete response data for surveys indexed in APOI, including extensive time series data going back to the 1970s. Use APOI to identify poll codes and dates of interest, then go to this microfiche set.Contains complete response data for surveys by many different national and regional organizations in the U.S. This is a microfiche collection--in Current Periodicals & Microtext (CPM)--to be accessed by use of the American Public Opinion Index (see above), and using the procedure described below. Procedure: use the above-cited APO index in Reference to identify relevant surveys and write down poll code(s) and date(s).

Exit Polls: Surveying the American Electorate, 1927-2010. Washington, DC: SAGE Publications Ltd. 2012
(a href="http://proxy.library.cornell.edu/login?url=http://sk.sagepub.com/cqpress/exit-polls">Online. Print: Olin Reference, JK 2007.B47 2012)
Authors Samuel J. Best and Brian S. Krueger - both election commentators for CBS news and statistical experts - present more than 100 tables and 100 figures showing the changes in the electorate and its voting patterns over time.

The Gallup Poll. New York: Random House, 1935/1971-2007. Annual. For data after 2007, go to Gallup.com.
(Olin Stacks HM 261 .G17 G2. Latest volume in Reference.)
A cumulative volume covers 1935 through 1971. 1972 to 2007 covered in annual volumes. A cumulative print index covers 1935 to 1997. Each set of data is accompanied by an excellent essay on the significance of the data entitled "Analysis."

The Gallup Poll Public Opinion: 1935-1997. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 2000. One CD-ROM.
(Olin Reference Disk HN 90 .P8 G29x 2000. Available in the Electronic Text Center.)
This CD-ROM edition contains results for all polls conducted between 1935 and 1997 and the cumulative index.A cumulative volume covers 1935 through 1971. 1972 to date covered in annual volumes. A cumulative print index covers 1935 to 1997.

The Gallup Poll. Tuesday Briefing. Washington: The Gallup Organization, 1989-2008.
(Olin Stacks HM 261 .A1 G17.)
Called Gallup Poll Briefing from 2006-2008,  Gallup Poll Monthly from 1989-2002, Gallup Report from 1981-1989, Gallup Opinion Index from 1967-1981, Gallup Political Index from 1965-1967.

A monthly collection of short articles on topics of current interest. Often includes extensive historical data. A useful source of paper and speech ideas.

Harris Polls. New York: Harris Interactive.
Previous print versions:
Harris Poll. Los Angeles: Creators Syndicate, 1981-2007. Weekly. (Olin Stacks HN 90 .P8 H31 +)
(Called The Harris Survey, New York: Louis Harris & Associates from 1981 to 1987.)
ABC News-Harris Survey from 1979-1980 (Olin Stacks HN 90 .P8 A12 +) and Harris Survey Yearbook of Public Opinion from 1970-1973 (Olin Stacks HM 261 .A1 H31 +).
"Begun in 1963, The Harris Poll weekly column is one of the longest running; most respected proprietary surveys conducted by Harris Interactive measuring public opinion and is highly regarded throughout the world. The nationally representative polls, conducted both by telephone and online, measure, and trend, the knowledge, opinions, behaviors and motivation of the general public. New survey data on a wide variety of subjects including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles are published weekly. Results of The Harris Poll are frequently quoted in the media, receiving thousands of mentions annually." [About the Harris Poll]

New Strategist publications.
Search "new strategist" in the Catalog.
Examples of titles by this publisher:
American Attitudes: Who Thinks What about the Issues That Shape Our Lives (Olin Stacks HN 90 .P8 M58x 2000 +) is a repackaging of data from the General Social Survey of the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago.
American Generations: Who They Are, How They Live, and What They Think (6th edition: Olin Reference HN 90 .P8 M58 2010) integrates survey data with other statistics to present a generational portrait of American consumers.

Web Accessibility Assistance