These resources can also be found by searching Databases on the Cornell Library web site.
- Academic Search Premier. [EBSCO]
- A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts
for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over
3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles
(scholarly articles). Good source for film reviews.
- Anthropology Plus.
- Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries,
edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural,
physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology,
archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Contains data from Anthropological Literature from Harvard University (1957 to date) and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK (early 19th century to date).
- eHRAF World Cultures.
- A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and
articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information
on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their
beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure,
architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is
organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are
subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
- FRANCIS: International, Multilingual, Multidisciplinary Humanities and Social Sciences.
- A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and
journal articles in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and
economics (4%). It is strong in religion, the history of art, and
literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and
world literature. FRANCIS covers 1984 to 2015.
- Humanities International Index.
- Provides indexing, citations, and abstracts for articles from over 2,000 journal articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative
works. Extensive coverage of folklore and symbolism.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive.
- Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within three to five years of the present [the "moving wall"].
Rich in book reviews and review journals for specific subjects and
disciplines, JSTOR is a fully-searchable, full-text database containing
the back issues of hundreds scholarly journals. Using advanced search,
you can limit your searching to the twenty-four folklore journals (or
any other subset of disciplinary journal titles) in the collection. List of journals included and years covered.
- MLA International Bibliography.
- An international index and database providing references to
scholarly articles and reviews from over 4,000 journals in literature,
film, folklore, literary theory, semiotics, and linguistics. Useful for
finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as
articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and
- Project MUSE.
- Searchable database that provides access to the full text of
journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other
university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing
arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies,
- ProQuest Research Library.
- Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes citations and abstracts to selected
television and radio programs. Many of the articles found by searching
in this database are available in full text electronic formats. The
database can be divided by subject (general or business), format
(newspaper or magazine and journal articles), or by date.