Skip to main content

Biographical Resources: A Research Guide: Biographical
Indexes

A selection of major sources of biographical information purchased or licensed by the Cornell University Library. Click on the TABS to access each section in this guide.

Biographical Indexes

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Gale Group. (Online only).
 
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
 
 
Biography Index: Past and Present. H. W. Wilson, 1946 to date. (Online).
 
Covers biographical information from English-language periodicals and books for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews and interviews.
 
 
Black Biography, 1790-1950: A Cumulative Index. Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. 3 volumes.
Plus a one volume supplement, Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 2000.
(Olin Reference E 185.96 .B616; Africana Reference E 185.96 .B533 and E 185.96 .B533 Suppl.)
 
These print volumes act as indexes to the full text of the biographies on microfiche published by Chadwyck-Healey and available from the Library Annex: Microfiche 6 consists of 297 fiche covering the original set. Microfiche 11, 50 fiche, covers the supplement.
 
 
Index to Spanish American Collective Biography. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981. 4 volumes.
Series: Reference Publications in Latin American Studies.
(Olin Reference Z 1609 .B6 M96)
 
Index to collective biographies of Spanish America, including general and specialized biographical dictionaries; Who's Who (and Quién es Quién) volumes; and general and subject encyclopedias. Also includes some literary anthologies and histories as sources of biography.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO