Skip to main content

Language Dictionaries Online: A Guide: Non English Languages
& Bilinguals

Limited to online full-text language dictionaries, primarily those the Cornell University Library has purchased outright or subscribes to. Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

Major Bilingual and Single-Language Dictionaries Online

Bilinguals: Oxford Language Dictionaries Online [OLDO]. 
OLDO has full versions of Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish bilingual dictionaries online.

 

Concise Bilinguals: Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Dictionaries. 
Concise versions of French, German, Irish, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh bilingual dictionaries online. Business language versions for French and Spanish. See Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (previous entry) for unabridged versions.

 

French only: Le grand Robert de la langue française 2e éd.
The second edition of this classic dictionary of the French language published by Le Robert.

 

German only: Duden-Munzinger Online 
Portal to 17 German-language dictionaries published by Duden, both specialized and general.

See also SCHOLARLY & SPECIALIZED DICTIONARIES

Major CJK Bilingual Dictionaries Online

Chinese: Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary: Chinese-English / English-Chinese

An EBook Central version of the print book. See also the Oxford Language Dictionaries Online bilingual database above.

Japanese: Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Server: Japanese-English Online Dictionary (Monash University site).

This online dictionary includes a Japanese-English dictionary, translation of Japanese text, and a kanji dictionary. To use this dictionary you will need to be able to display Japanese kana and kanji on your computer. The site gives information on setting up Japanese fonts on your browser.

Japanese: Sanseido Web Dictionary

This site allows you to do a simultaneous search of three dictionaries: a kokugo (Japanese language), ei-wa (English-Japanese), and a wa-ei (Japanese-English), all "Daily Concise" editions published by Sanseido. To use, you will need Japanese fonts on your computer.

Japanese: Rikai

Rikai is a translation site for Japanese to English, English to Japanese, English to Spanish, and Chinese to English. It can be used to read Japanese kanji. It allows you to paste a URL or text into its translator and it will give you the reading and definition for the words once you move your mouse over them. To use, you will need Japanese fonts on your computer.

Korean: Naver English Dictionary

Bilingual. Supplies word definitions, synonyms, antonyms, and idiomatic uses in word search results. Includes contextual examples--specific references to news sources on the web or elsewhere with the context of the word explained. Many of the results also have audio pronunciations.

Southeast and South Asian Dictionaries Online

Bengali: Samsad Bengali-English Dictionary

Popular and standard dictionary for Bengali-English that has been published in several editions since 1968.

Indonesian: A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary (EBook Central version)

Compilation of all the roots, words, phrases, proverbs, idioms, compounds, and derivatives that the authors have found in written and spoken Indonesian. Some words that are generally used only or mostly in Malay have also been included.

Malay, Balinese, Indonesia, Maranao, Java, Maguindanao, Mon, Vietnamese, Shan, Karen, Khmer, Lao, Thai, and Burmese: SEALang Library

Language reference materials for Southeast Asia, focusing recently on the non-roman script languages used throughout the mainland and the many languages of insular Southeast Asia, including Malaysia, Indonesia, and the Philippines. Resources include bilingual and monolingual dictionaries.

Vietnamese: Mini Vietnamese dictionary: Vietnamese-English, English-Vietnamese (EBook Central version)

About 10,000 Vietnamese words that are most commonly used in everyday communication.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO