Skip to main content

German Studies: A Research Guide: Resources for
German History

A research guide focussed on German-language resources, print and online, available from the Cornell University Library.

Resources for German History

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) online. Urbana-Champaign: University of Illinois Graduate School of Library and Information Science, 1989- . (Online)
ABSEES covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, and contains bibliographic citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and selected government publications.
 
Historical Abstracts. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998- .(Online)
This historical periodical database includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2000 journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history.
 
Historische Bibliographie Online (AHF). Ed. Horst Möller, et al. Munich: Oldenbourg, 1999- . (Online)
Die Datenbank zur Geschichte Die Datenbank Historische Bibliographie der Berichtsjahre seit 1990 umfasst über 145.000 bibliographische Einträge der in Deutschland sowie im deutschsprachigen Ausland erschienenen historischen Bücher, deutsche sowie fremdsprachige Zeitschriftenaufsätze, Beiträtge aus Sammelwerken und sonstige Verötffentlichungen. Sie wird ergänzt durch ütber 10.000 Einträtge in Bearbeitung befindlicher Forschungsarbeiten aus dem "Jahrbuch der historischen Forschung." Index to publications on history, cumulated from 1990 onward.
 
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. Edited by John M. Jeep. New York: Garland, 2001. (Olin Reference DD 126 .M43x 2001 +)
Nearly 650 alphabetically arranged entries cover German- and Dutch-speaking Europe from A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles cover "major persons, places, historical occurrences, artistic and technological accomplishments, intellectual developments, and daily life." Among the topics covered are Carmina Burana, Gardens and gardening, Hanseatic League, Heraldry, Jews, Meistersinger, Pregnancy and childbirth, and Printing press. There are also entries for persons and places, from the Carolingian capital Aachen to the Cistercian monastery Zwettl. Entries vary in length from a paragraph or two to 20 pages. Articles were written to be accessible to the nonspecialist as well as the scholar, and bibliographies cite English-language sources whenever possible. [Booklist]
 
Periodical Contents Index: PCI. Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey. (Online)
Covers 1770-1993. Index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.
 
International Medieval Bibliography. Leeds, England: W.S. Maney, 1967- . (Online)
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.
 
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Toronto: Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies of the University of Toronto, 1996- . (Online)
A bibliographic database of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, editions, abstracts, discographies, and notes.
 
Topic Guides: Germany. Center for Research Libraries.
Mainly access to extensive primary sources from before World War II. See also CRL's guide to their resources on Germany from the spring 2008 issue of their Focus newsletter.
 
Web of Science Core Collection (includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975 to date). Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information. (Online only)
A multidisciplinary index to over 1,200 leading international arts and humanities journals. It includes journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, poems, short stories, plays, musical scores, excerpts from books, and bibliographies. It is unique in that it allows the user to trace cited references, i.e., you can locate all articles published in a given year that cited a key article on your topic. Use the "More Settings" menu to limit searching to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
 

Web Accessibility Assistance