Top Tools
Course reserves, In addition to Mann Library, 20,000 science and engineering books are located in Uris Library.
Passkey Off-campus? Log in once with this browser bookmarklet that connects you to all the Library's databases and journals with a single Cornell log-in. See this video.
Unpaywall.org - looks for legal, open-acces copies of an article
Citation Management - Keep track of your references, format bibliographies in thousands of styles. Mendeley, Zotero, Endnote, Papers. Email engrref@cornell.edu for free premium upgrade for Mendeley.
Rapid delivery of books not owned by Cornell from Borrow Direct and scanned articles from Interlibrary loan.
SHARES program - visit and possibly borrow books from other libraries, such as Columbia, Syracuse, Ohio State, Boston University.
Stay Current - with JournalTOCS - have tables of contents from journals in your field delivered to your email.
SPARC Author Addendum - sign and send to your publisher to retain your rights to your article - to distribute in your classes, include sections in later works, post to a website.
Streaming videos on how-to-use library databases - such as Engineering Village, Knovel, etc.
Databases below for journal articles, patents, standards, such as Scopus, Engineering Village.
Top Databases
- Engineering Library
Engineering Library links to databases, How to Videos (on finding research articles, materials properties, Passkey) plus services such as document delivery, books requests, room reservations. - Engineering Village
Best comprehensive engineering database. Search scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex. - Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Use for article searching, citations of articles (from 1970-), citation scores of authors, set up alerts, analyze data (i.e. journal rankings). - PubMed
PubMed is the premier database for medical literature. Publisher is National Library of Medicine. - Knovel
Knovel has thousands of technical e-books on many subjects. Materials Properties, ASM Handbooks may be searched here. - Proquest Theses
Guide to finding full-text theses from Cornell and North America. - SciFinder-n
provides online access to several databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE. They provide access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service.
Icebreaker Questions
1) Which citation management program do you use, if any? Why?
2) Have there been times when you couldn't find or organize the information you needed? Describe.
Email to jhp1@cornell.edu