Overview
This page covers how to add tags, search within tags, back up your Zotero Library, and where to find help for using Zotero.
Add tags
The Tags tab shows the tags that were included with the article when the item was first created by Zotero. You can also add your own tags here.
If Zotero detects metadata as part of a catalog record associated with the item you saved, Zotero will sometimes add that information as a tag.
Zotero displays tags for library items in the lower, left corner.
Click on a tag to see all items in your Zotero Library associated with that tag.
Note that you can search all items saved in Zotero using the search bar at the top. Search by the name of any field or tag.
Help with Zotero
There are many resources on the Internet for understanding how Zotero works and using Zotero to organize references.
As you begin to use Zotero, review the Zotero Quick Start Guide which includes detailed information on both automatically and manually adding items to Zotero, searching within Zotero, creating bibliographies, and answers to frequently asked questions.
Another resource to consider is the Zotero Support page which includes the above-mentioned information as well as information on Zotero plugins.
Ask questions about Zotero, search for answers, and discuss features of Zotero in the Zotero Forums. You must have a Zotero account to post comments in the Zotero forums.
Back up your Zotero library
Your Zotero data directory contains your entire Zotero library.
There are two ways you can back up your data directory so that you will still have your information if your hard drive crashes.
Sync to the cloud with Zotero
When you create a Zotero account, you can set up automatic sync with an online version of your Zotero library. This option also allows you to access your Zotero library from any computer with an internet connection. Read about setting up sync on the Zotero website.
Find the Zotero data directory on your computer
You can also locate the Zotero data directory on your computer and include it in your usual data backup procedures.
First, find where your data directory is located.
Navigate to the Edit menu and then click on Preferences.
In the Zotero Preferences menu that opens, click on Advanced. Then select the Files and Folders tab.
From here, you may either click on "Show Data Directory" or navigate to the location shown for the data directory here.
Important: Before backing up your data directory, close your web browser and the Zotero desktop application.
Back up the data directory however you prefer. For example, you can copy the folder to an external storage device.