Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Encyclopedias, online (via Cornell Library)
- The Oxford Companion to World War II byPublication Date: 1995
- The Holocaust Encyclopedia byPublication Date: 2001
- The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust byPublication Date: 2000
- Historical Dictionary of World War II France byPublication Date: 1998
Note: Similar titles exist in print and online for other nations, other topics. To find them, ask at Olin Reference or use the Advanced Search in the Library catalog.
Bibliographies
Recommended for primary and secondary sources:
- World War II in Europe, Africa, and the Americas, with General Sources byEdited by Loyd E. Lee ; foreword by Mark A. Stoler ; Robin Higham, advisory editor. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
Encyclopedias in the print library collections
- World War II in the Pacific byCall Number: Olin Library Reference, D767 .W68x 2001 +Publication Date: 2000
- Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature byCall Number: Olin Library Reference, PN56.H55 E53x 2002 +Publication Date: 2002
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust byCall Number: Olin Library Oversize, D804.25 .E53 2000Publication Date: 2000-09-01
- The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich byCall Number: Olin LIbrary Reference, DD256.5 .G865 1991 +Publication Date: 1991
- Historical Dictionary of World War II Intelligence byCall Number: Olin Library, D810.S7 W385 2008Publication Date: 2007
- Dictionnaire de la seconde guerre mondiale en BelgiqueCall Number: Olin Library, D763.B4 D53 2008
- The D-Day Encyclopedia byCall Number: Olin Oversize, Oversize D756.5.N6 D22x 1994 +Publication Date: 1993
- Volkslexikon Drittes Reich die Jahre 1933-1945 in Wort und BildCall Number: Olin Library, DD256.5 .P439 1994z
- World War II byCall Number: Library Annex, D743.5 .P56x 1991Publication Date: 1991Choose Request from the library record to have the item sent from the Annex to any campus library.
- Dictionary of American HistoryPublication Date: 2002
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy byCall Number: Olin LIbrary Reference, E183.7 .E52x 2002 +Publication Date: 2001
Note: Similar titles exist in print and online for other nations, other topics. To find them, ask at Olin Reference or use the Advanced Search in the Library catalog.
Cambridge Histories
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Language Dictionaries
- Oxford English DictionaryThe classic multi-volume dictionary online. Great for quotes and etymology.
- Language Dictionaries OnlineExcellent list of reputable English and other language dictionaries online.
Holocaust
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, D805.A2 U55 2009 +Publication Date: 2009Four volumes. Excellent. Extremely detailed, including actions of units.
