Tutorial: Searching using Web of Science: Finding Highly Cited Articles

Find out which articles scholars cite most and which ones you shouldn't miss (often older and/or review articles) in an area using Web of Science's citation features. Search for a topic, sort by Times Cited-Highest to Lowest and click on the Times Cited number to see how many people and who has cited something (and find related and more current articles).

Web of Science core collection includes these databases:

BIOSIS Citation Index

BIOSIS Previews

Current Contents Connect

CABI: CAB Abstracts®

Data Citation Index

Derwent Innovations Index

FSTA® - the food science resource

KCI-Korean Journal Database

MEDLINE®

Russian Science Citation Index

SciELO Citation Index

Zoological Record

These databases contain information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals and include references cited by the authors of the articles.

To search specific database click the down arrow next to "Editions All" and select the databases you want to search :

Web of Science Editions All

 

Cited reference searching enables you to find articles that have cited a previously published work. Through a cited reference search, you can discover how a known idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected. Every reference listed on the page has been cited by at least one article indexed in Web of Science.

Cited references are sorted alphabetically by cited author. References containing the same cited author are sorted alphabetically by cited work. References with the same cited author and cited work are sorted in reverse chronological order by cited year.

For more assistance, Web of Science offers a tutorial of their features.