Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Some Useful Literary Research Tools
Oxford English DictionaryCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PE1625 M98The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Cambridge History of Literary CriticismCall Number: Print set: Olin stacks PN86 C17 (6th floor)Publication Date: Cambridge University Press, 1989 - dateContents: v. 1. Classical criticism / edited by George A. Kennedy -- v. 3. The Renaissance / edited by Glyn P. Norton -- v. 4. Eighteenth century / edited by H.B. Nisbet and Claude Rawson -- v. 5. Romanticism / edited by Marshall Brown -- v. 7. Modernism and the new criticism / edited by A. Walton Litz, Louis Menand, and Lawrence Rainey -- v. 8. From formalism to poststructuralism / edited by Raman Selden -- v. 9. Twentieth-century historical, philosophical and psychological perspectives / edited by Christa Knellwolf and Christopher Norris.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: Baltimore, Md. : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography
Oxford/Cambridge Companions and Handbooks
Victorian Literature & History
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Victorian LiteratureOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901.
Cambridge History of Victorian LiteraturePublication Date: 2012Covering the period 1837 through 1901, scholarly essays cover topics including sexuality, sensation, cityscapes, melodrama, epic and economics. Victorian writing is placed in its complex relation to the Empire, Europe and America, as well as to Britain's component nations. The final chapters consider how Victorian literature, and the period as a whole, influenced twentieth-century writers.
- Cambridge Social History of Britain, 1750–1950A three volume historical overview of life in England during the modern era.
Vol. 1- Regions and Communities
Vol. 2 - People and their environment
Vol. 3. Social Agencies and Institutions
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era by Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference DA550 E527 2004+Publication Date: Grolier, 2003Discusses and analyzes topics such as industralization, social thought and reform, colonial expansion, and cultural identity - Focus is on Britain, but articles cover British influence in the United States, Europe, Ireland, and the British Empire, including special attention to India, Australia, and Africa. Selected primary sources, with commentary, offer documentary evidence of major themes of the era. Provides coverage of all aspects of everyday life, domestic life, and social conditions. Articles are written by scholars and experts in their fields
Encyclopedia of Victorian LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR451 .E553 2015Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015Comprises over 330 fully cross-referenced entries, combining in-depth omnibus essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, alongside succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: 2006"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.
Victorian Culture and Society: the Essential Glossary by Call Number: Olin Reference DA550 .R59 2003Publication Date: 2003Offers an introduction to Victorian culture and society and a route-map to further study. Contains around 400 short and accessible explanations of key words, events, figures and concepts in the study of the Victorian period, including literary topics, traditions and movements, as well as the period's history, culture and politics.
Victorian Britain: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Olin Reference DA550 V64 +Publication Date: 1988Intended to provide an "overview and point of departure" for the study of "persons, events, institutions, topics, groups, and artifacts in Great Britain between 1837 and 1901" (Pref.). Arranged alphabetically, signed articles end with additional readings. An annotated bibliography of key research sources concludes the encyclopedic dictionary. Cross-references, general index, illustrations, and chronology.
