LibGuides: Veterinary Medicine: Databases

Using Databases

With the amount of information available in databases, it can be overwhelming to find what you are looking for. Without using effective search techniques you can be faced with thousands of results to dig through in order to find the information most relevant to your needs. For tips, tricks, and strategies to make the most out of your searching, check out these Library Tutorials

Looking for a database not listed here? Explore Cornell University Library's full selection of databases

Need Help Searching?

How to Use Search Terms - Library Tutorial
Need help searching in a database? Check out this comprehensive, online tutorial to learn how to search like a librarian. This includes definitions of library jargon, use of search techniques, and embedded questions to check your understanding

Look Here First

PubMed
Provides access to over 22 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
BIOSIS Previews
Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. BIOSIS also combines the content from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
CAB Abstracts
CAB Abstracts covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agricultural engineering, applied economics and sociology, animal production, animal health, animal nutrition, aquaculture, biofuels, biosafety and bioterrorism, biotechnology, breeding, chemistry, climate change, crop science and grasslands, ecotourism, entomology, environmental science, food science and technology, forestry, genetics (molecular genetics, cytogenetics, population genetics, genomics), helminthology, horticultural science, human nutrition, invasive species, leisure and tourism (recreation), medicinal plants and pharmacology, microbiology, mycology, natural resources, land/water management, nematology, organic and sustainable agriculture, parasitology, plant pathology, plant protection, postharvest, protozoology, soil science, veterinary medicine, virology, waste management.
Web of Science
Choosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Additional Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
BioMed Central
BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
CAB Abstracts Archive
Covering the literature from 1910 to 1972, CAB abstracts archive makes over 1,860,000 records on every aspect of agricultural science, veterinary medicine, nutrition and natural resources, available electronically. Includes biodiversity, pest control, environmental pollution, animal diseases, nutrition, food production, managing natural resources, plant and animal breeding. The Archive combines 17 printed abstract journals produced between 1910 and 1972. Fully searchable and has been re-indexed with modern terms.
CINAHL
CINAHL provides indexing for 2,913 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for 1,150 journals are also included. Full text material includes nearly 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. In March 2009, the content of the Pre-CINAHL database was incorporated into the CINAHL database.