Creating a List of Companies
These are some of the main sources that will let you create a list of companies that match criteria you specify (such as where they are located, their indusries, size, etc.). There are additional places to search specifically for SGE-related job postings on the Sustainability Jobs tab.
Keep in mind, many larger companies may not entirely focus on SGE issues, but will have divisions or positions that do.
- GuideStar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. Parts of the database are only available to licensed institutions, but the site contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration
- Capital IQCapital IQ is a major financial platform used to find data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. It includes financials for over 88,000 public companies and 825,000 private companies.
- UniworldThe authoritative source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch [sic]. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States--Introductory page. Databases may be searched by country, region, state, keyword, zip code or postal code, industry code, revenue and number of employees. Search results can be viewed in HTML and printed, or downloaded into Microsoft Excel.
- Leadership ConnectFormerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.
Finding Industry Codes
What is an industry code?
SIC and NAICS are classification systems for industries. They allow you to group together companies in a specific industry in a standardized way.
Where can I find industry codes?
SIC and NAICS codes and code definitions are available from the Census website.
For example, the NAICS code for alternative energy (e.g., geothermal, ocean wave, solar, wind) is 237130.
Search Tips
Hey, there are some companies missing!
If you have tried the search on the left you might have noticed that a major player in the windmill industry, General Electric, is missing from the results list! Even though General Electric is based in Rochester, GE Wind is based in California and so in this case the database limits your search results as such.
To avoid this problem start broad
- Do not limit the location for your first search.
- Use broader industries and use the appropriate industry code to search for your companies. Many databases will have GE Wind listed as a turbine manufacturer (SIC:3511, NAICS:333611) rather than an alternative energy manufacturer.
- Use more than one resource when creating lists of companies.