Get the News
No need to subscribe and pay for online access to newspapers while you're at Cornell!
Funding from the Library, the Student Assembly, and other organizations means that undergraduates have free access to nytimes.com. All Cornellians have access to the other news databases on this page.
Cornell-funded Online Access to Recent News
- Financial Times/FT.com:Access funded by the Library and others.
From the catalog record, follow the link to set up your free account. All faculty, students, and staff have access.The default edition is the “International Edition.” You can switch to the UK Edition on the ft.com homepage. - New York Times/nytimes.comCornell undergraduates can sign in here for unlimited, free access to nytimes.com, funded by the Student Assembly.
Law School students, faculty, and staff have access funded by the Law Library.
New York Times articles can also be accessed online by all Cornell students, faculty and staff via the U.S. Major Dailies database provided by the library. - Wall Street Journal/wsj.comAccess funded by the library and the Student Assembly.
Available to all faculty, students, and staff at Cornell. To register, select your account type from the drop-down menu, add a password, and agree to the Privacy Policy.
Database Access to Recent News
- FactivaAccess funded by the Library.
Scroll down to the Newsstand: US box on the Factiva home page to browse the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, plain text (no graphics)—The New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition), and Washington Post from the print editions. Articles in the online versions may not be available in Factiva! Use the Search/SearchBuilder menu to query the full database content. Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. - Global NewsstreamAccess funded by the Library.
Aggregates all the ProQuest Newsstream databases in one searchable interface, including U.S. Newsstream with all regional Newsstreams, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream. Five major U.S. daily newspapers can be searched in U.S Major Dailies database.
Coverage and format: 1980s to date. Plain text. - Nexis UniAccess funded by the Library.
Full-text articles from thousands of news sources in plain text. Coverage begins around 1980 for many titles. - World Politics Review [WPR]Access funded by the Library.
Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.
But Wait, There's More!
Need to research a news topic in depth? Use our Guide to News Research.