History of Science and Technology - Digital Primary Sources: Digital Collections at Other Institutions

Located in Nova Scotia near a picturesque lighthouse.

Purdue University e-archive, including papers of Amelia Earhart.

Search the National Archives for declassified documents.

Includes resources on the Manhattan Project, atomic bomb, Cold War, and historical images.

The Library of Congress has a number of prominent STEM digital materials, such as the Wright Brothers, Ptolemy, Copernicus, Descartes, and Galileo. There are also maps of nature the environment. Here is a page with more teaching suggestions.

Linda Hall is a private science, engineering, and technology library with a large History of Science collection. Their digital collection has a quarter million images. They also do document scanning for the public.

Includes oral histories of women scientists and engineers. Works by prominent figures such as Georgius Agricola, Robert Boyle, Marie Curie, Michael Faraday, Otto von Guericke, Caroline Herschel, Ada Lovelace, Issac Newton, Mary Somerville, and Alessandro Volta are included.

Search and browse historic photographs, letters, journals, flight logs, military records, oral histories, and other media. Notable is the collection from long-time Boeing employee Theodore Jay Johnston Boeing Aircraft Collection.

Includes the Keller Mechanical Engineering Company Collection. Although KME developed many products, the typical Keller machine was a tracer-controlled, horizontal milling machine, which duplicated molds and dies. Held at New York University, this company operated from 1916-1962.

Search the world's patent databases for inventions.

Among the department’s collections are the materials of John and Washington Roebling, Eben Norton Horsford, Amos Eaton, George Low’s NASA papers, and the Gerald and Sue Friedman History of Geology Rare Book Collection.

A Selected Webliography by Amy Jankowski, Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship, Summer 2017.

Vast repository of papers, notebooks, and drawings on many topics, including those of prominent engineering firms and individuals. Click on "only records with digital assets."

Full-text U.S. government reports contributed by four dozen libraries and institutions.

OU Libraries’ History of Science digital collection began with several hundred 15th- through 18th-century rare books, maps, and other items digitized for the 2015-2016 Galileo’s World exhibition. Also includes title pages from 8,300 books.

The collection at the Library of Congress contains more than 1,000 items and is fully digitized, providing a deep look into the familial relationships, personal lives, and innovative work of the Wright brothers.