State policy focused websites
Articles & Full Text (EBSCO)
The library subscribes to a large number of article databases from a variety of vendors (EBSCO, Proquest, Clarivate, and more).
The Articles and Full Text search from the library homepage searches across a collection of EBSCO databases.
- Select Articles & Full Text from the library homepage
- Enter your keywords and phrases
- Use the filters to narrow your search by date published, language, etc.
More Search tips:
- Select the Advanced Search
- Search for your terms, or some of your terms, in the subject headings (use the pull-down menu to select Subject Terms -- SU
- Follow relevant subject heading links.
More Databases
-
PubMedPubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
-
PAIS InternationalInternational coverage of public policy literature in economics, government, law, international business, political science and public administration. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, trade journals and reports (identified as "books").
Please note: Proquest databases also include dissertations. You can use the filters on the left to limit by publication type. -
ProQuest Social Science Premium CollectionBecause this database is international in scope, it may sometimes be helpful to use the Filters to limit your search results to the United States:
Connect key terms with AND;
- If you need to find an exact phrase, place quotation marks around the phrase, e.g "public education;"
- Place parentheses around alternative terms connected with OR.
- It can sometimes be useful to use the NEAR/__ (number of words) operator to find your search terms close together in the text).
Sample searches:
"medicaid expansion" AND states
"public education" and vouchers AND "new york state"
Note: Adding New York State doesn't guarantee that the articles will be about New York State, only that the phrase appears somewhere in the article. It may help to use the Advanced Search, add "new york state," and use the pull-down menu to select "Subject."