Find article texts
If a database cites an article you need, and there is no direct link to the full text online, look for a “Get It Cornell” link, or search in the Cornell Library Catalog for the title of the journal (not the article).
check CU holdings
Check the volume holdings statements at the bottom of the records for print titles, or the dates of coverage in the electronic access links for the “networked” or online versions, then navigate chronologically to the journal issue you need.
Article Databases
Sociology Databases:
- Sociology Source Ultimate(EBSCO)
RECOMMENDED!
Expanded version of SocINDEX
Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive up to date coverage encompassing related areas of the social sciences.
(Click on "Choose Databases" at the top of the page to add other Ebsco databases to your search, including Academic Search Premier, America History and Life, Race Relations Abstracts, Psycinfo, Urban Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies) - Sociological Abstracts(ProQuest) Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides citations from 1963 to the present, and abstracts since 1974, to journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Interdisciplinary databases:
- Academic Search Premier(EBSCO)
RECOMMENDED - Articles & Full TextLocated on the Library homepage. CAUTION: Full-text searching creates huge search results.
- Google ScholarCAUTION: Incomplete coverage, lacks links to article texts, lacks subject heading, but good for newer current sources.
- Proquest Social Science PremiumThe ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection combines our discipline specific collections in politics and sociology, with powerful resources that cut across the entire spectrum of the social sciences. This Collection enriches the discipline by providing more coverage on applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
More Databases
Cornell subscribes to hundreds of article databases that specialize in various subject areas, e.g. race, economics, politics and government, women’s studies, etc.
To identify more databases that you might wish to search, click on the Databases tab below the white search box on the Library Homepage and try browsing by category or searching by keyword.