Cornell University

Shannon Engineering Inc. Records Collection: Home

Guide to the Shannon Engineering Inc. technical reports and archives at Cornell University

Introduction

The Shannon Engineering Inc. Records, 1970 - 2008

undefined

The collection (finding aid and sample documents) consists of engineering reports and drawings covering

  • 44 different airplanes, 6 helicopters, and 11 engine types
  • documentation on hush kits for noise abatement of the Boeing 707 and others,
  • critical structural modifications of the 747 for heavy loads,
  • testing Sikorsky helicopters to accept an 11,000 pound external load and photographic studies taken in flight.
  • reports on regulatory matters, and compliance with evolving requirements of the F.A.A. and its international peers.
  • The Seattle, Washington company worked with Tracor Aviation Inc. on noise-reduction kits

The collection encompasses material during a transitional time period - analog technology to computer/electronic breakthroughs developed during the space program to the digital age.

A detailed Finding Aid helps in locating technical reports by subject.

Sample of reports is available online. The complete collection is available in the Rare and Manuscript Collection Reading Room in Kroch Library (and must be requested online for delivery).

The company was featured on the cover of Aviation Week & Space Technology below (May 27, 1985).

cover of Aviation Week and Space Technology

Jack Shannon

Jack Shannon, a former Boeing employee who ran his own airplane parts company Shannon Engineering for 34 years, donated his collection of 453 original documents and technical reports to Cornell University; the collection was processed in 2020.

Jack Shannon wrote these two books, which are in the Cornell Library.

Quiet 707

quiet 707 bookcover

The 58P: an aerodynamicist pilot looks at the Baron 58P

58p bookcover

Short Biography from University of Texas at Austin

Finding Aids

 

A Finding Aid helps in locating technical reports by subject.

A Sample of reports is available online.

Aerospace Research Center is a good source for technical papers, such as this one - "Meeting the 1985 FAA Noise Regulations with Old Engines and Modern Acoustic Technology," K. S. Irwin, Tracor Aviation, Inc, Goleta, CA, AIAA 85-1120

Questions? Contact Jill Powell, jhp1@cornell.edu

Engineering Librarian

Jill Powell's picture
Jill Powell
Contact:
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
jhp1@cornell.edu
engrref@cornell.edu
607-255-8701
Subjects:Engineering
Web Accessibility Assistance