GOVT 4000 (Fall 2025): Russia: News Databases

Covers papers worldwide. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper. To identify specific papers and dates of coverage, check the Publications link on the home page.
For the U.S., Global newsstream includes The New York Times (1990 - ), The Washington Post (1996- current), The Los Angeles Times (1996 - current) and The Wall Street Journal Online (2010 - current), among many others.

US newspapers and some international sources.
Access World News also includes BBC Selected News Articles from countries around the world.To search papers from individual countries, select:
Sources: A to Z;
Use the pull-down menu to select "location;"
Enter the country name;
Select papers to search.

Most publications are in Russian, but also includes several English-language titles.

From 1941-1996. Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts. Culled from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages. For later coverage, 1994-2019, see World News Connection, below.

World News Connection was closed down at the end of 2013. No new content after December 31, 2013. The material was obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and and socioeconomic issues and events. For earlier years, see: FBIS, above.

Select "News" from the top banner.
Enter keywords and phrases to find your search terms anywhere in an article.
Or, begin your search with hlead followed by your search terms in parentheses to find your search terms in the headline or lead paragraph. This may help to improve relevancy. Example: hlead(medicaid expansion)
To find longer articles add and length >1000 (1000, 1500, etc.). Example: hlead(medicaid expansion) and length>1000
Note: To find editorials, add and section (editorial or opinion).
You can also begin by finding and then adding specific sources to search: From the top banner, select "Sources." Then select Publication Type > News and Publication Location.
Please note: You do not need to register with Nexis Uni to search or download content. Registering with a database will always carry privacy risks.

For best results, select the Advanced Search. Scroll down to choose Document types. If you wish, use the date limits on the right to restrict your results to a particular date range.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.