Reference Sources for Jewish Studies
- Encyclopedia Judaica byCall Number: Print version: Olin Reference DS102.8 E496 2007 +Publication Date: 2006Comprehensive work with more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. 2nd ed. 22 vols.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish StudiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Jewish studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Film Reference Sources
- Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersCall Number: Online (click on title above); also Olin Reference PN 1993.45 I61 2000 (print copy)Publication Date: 2000Vol. I of this four-volume set lists and describes approximately 650 international and historical films. Descriptions include production information, a cast list, a plot summary, an essay of the film's place in film history, and a lengthy bibliography. Vols. II-IV focus on Directors/Filmmakers, Actors and Actresses, and Writers and Production Assistants.
How to Read Citations
Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.
Latin American Reference Sources
- Oxford Bibliographies: Latin American StudiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the Latin American Studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. See the entry on the Jewish Presence in Latin America.
- Jewish Writers of Latin AmericaCall Number: Print copy: Olin Library stacks PQ7081.3 .J49x 1997Publication Date: Garland Pub., 1997
- Encyclopedia of Latin American LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Library Reference PQ7081.A1 E56x 1997 +Publication Date: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997Includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies: the literature of individual countries, the colonial period, and of ethnic minorities.
- Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003Call Number: Print copy: Olin Library Reference PQ7081.A1 E558 2004Publication Date: Routledge, 2004With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia covers the popular to the esoteric.
- Literary Cultures of Latin America byCall Number: Olin Library Reference, PQ7081.A1 L525 2004 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2004"In topically arranged articles written by a team of international scholars, Literary Cultures of Latin America explores the shifting problems that have arisen across national borders, geographic regions, time periods, linguistic systems, and cultural traditions in literary history."
Literature Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.