Cornell University History: A Research Guide: Courses and Classes

Courses of Study (CoS)

CoS for 2011/2012 through the current year are available online from the Registrar.

CoS for 1980/1981 through 2010/2011 are online in the Registrar's CoS Archive.

For 1910/1911 through 1979/1980, see Cornell University Announcements, variously called Description of Courses or Courses of Instruction.

The Courses of Study list is published annually in August. General information on course offerings includes current tuition and fees and information about special programs and centers: Study abroad, Cornell in Washington, Einaudi Center, etc.

Print versions of the CoS are available in Olin and Mann Libraries.

Cornell University Announcements

1910 through 1960/1961 complete; partial holdings for 1961/1962 through 1993. A list of the exact holdings is available via catalog record and physical materials are located in Olin Library, LD 1349 .A61. Courses are listed by college or school and then by department for each academic year.

The University Records

1900/1901 through 1909/1910 complete. Located at Olin Library, LD 1349 .A6, ser. 1-10. Course listings.

Cornell University Description of Courses

1976/1977 to 1979/1980. Located at Mann Library, LD 1349 .D44

College Catalog Collection. Career Guidance Foundation.

1973/1974 to 1998/1999. Located at Olin Library, Microfiche 2815. Contains course catalogs from most colleges and universities in the U.S.

The Register

1868/69 to 1931/32. Located in the Law Library and the Rare and Manuscript Collections, LD 1346.5 .C8144. Includes course descriptions, faculty, and departments.

Announcements. Summer School.

1899-1908, 1910-1944, 1945-1974 [incomplete]. Located in the University Archives, ARP 610. Alternate titles: Announcement of courses of instruction during the summer session; Announcement of the ... summer session (-1934); Announcement of the summer session, university and state summer schools (1934 to 1958); Summer session announcement (1947 to 1958).

Cornell Adult University records.

1971 to 2009. Located in the University Archives, 41-8-3726. Archive of print records of adult university offered by Cornell University, including course lists, compilations, announcements, and other related material.

Course and teacher evaluations

Various dates. Search "Cornell University--Curricula" as a Subject in our Catalog.