LibGuides: A Research Guide for Engineering Project Teams: Finding Sponsors

Find major players (a.k.a. Industry Research)

Perform industry research to find important companies or major players in the industry of choice, and get useful information to help tailor emails, calls, or interviews like executive insights, industry performance, outlook, and key statistics.

IBISWorld
Provides industry reports that include major companies in the industry of interest as well as call preparation questions, industry performance, key statistics and more.
ABI/INFORM
Provides First Research Industry Profiles that include executive insights, executive conversation starters, call preparation questions, and more.
Technavio
Provides market research reports for a variety of global industries, including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, consumer goods and automotive. Reports include important companies/vendors and current trend. Unlimited report viewing is available, but each Cornell email address is limited to 20 downloads per month.

Find Cornell Alumni in Industry (a.k.a. Company Screening)

Start building a list of potential corporate sponsors where Cornell alumni work (or worked) at. Using powerful screening tool available from Capital IQ and using dynamic online resumes from LinkedIn, you can thoroughly screen companies in the industry of interest for up-to-date information.

Capital IQ
A premier financial database with powerful screening features, including company status, company size, colleges/universities, and industry classifications.
LinkedIn
A professional networking platform with a capacity to search for a potential corporate sponsor and find Cornell alumni who work (or worked) there.
PitchBook
A database with powerful screening tool for people, and companies and deals. People Screener has many options, including colleges/universities, gender, position levels, location, etc.

Research Non-Profits and Foundations

Guidestar Premium
Searchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. The database contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration. Additional premium content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
Foundation Directory
Contains information about the largest public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. This edition includes full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news and job postings.