PMA 1166: Feminist Performance in the 21st Century (Spring 2022): FInd Background

Online dictionary from the University of Exeter. Provides information on nearly 1500 technical terms in 17 theatre categories (e.g, lighting, stage management, sound, costume, administration).

A guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present, the volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, etc. The book covers classic works (such as Death of a Salesman) as well as many commercially successful plays (such as Getting Gertie's Garter), plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced dramatic development in the US (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter). New entries include recent plays such as Angels in America and Six Degrees of Separation, performers such as Eric Bogosian and Bill Irwin, playwrights like David Henry Hwang and Wendy Wasserstein, and relevant developments and issues including AIDS in American theatre, theatrical producing by Disney, and the rise in solo performance. (Publisher's description, abridged)

Provides information about theatre and performance internationally, through history and in the present. Coverage ranges from ancient Greek theatre to 21st century developments around the globe. Dance, opera, performance art, radio, film, and television are covered, as are para-theatrical, non-dramatic, and popular performance.

This comprehensive volume: * reviews women's contributions to theatre history * includes contributions from many of the top academics in this discipline * examines how theatre has represented women over the centuries * introduces readers to major theoretical approaches and more complex questions about gender, the body and cross-dressing * offers an international perspective, including material from post-apartheid South Africa and post-communist Russia.

A collection of key articles on feminist theatre and performance from The Drama Review (TDR). Includes key texts by theorists such as Elin Diamond, Peggy Phelan and Lynda Hart and interviews with practitioners including Anna Deveare Smith and Robbie McCauley.

Explores the role and centrality of women in the development of collaborative theatre practice, alongside the significance of collective creation and devising in the development of the modern theatre.

Features interviews with some of the most successful theatre artists currently working on and off Broadway and beyond, providing insight on what it means and what it takes to be a successful female-identifying playwright and director in the USA.

By Margaret Walters. Provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today.

Contains over 500 authoritative entries by an international team of contributors and includes clear, concise and provocative explanations of key themes and ideas. Each entry contains cross references and a bibliographic guide to further reading.

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

Covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Signed entries (with cross-references and recommended readings) cover the full range of issues in contemporary women's studies.

"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "

Offers accounts of the most important international developments in gay and lesbian cultural history "...written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future."

Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

3 volumes, Contains over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.