PMA 1160: Wonderlands and Other Worlds (Spring 2024): Find Background

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.

"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.

Brings together essays by scholars and practitioners of science fiction, which look at the genre from different angles. After an introduction to the nature of science fiction, historical chapters trace science fiction from Thomas More to more recent years, including a chapter on film and television. The second section introduces four critical approaches to science fiction drawing their theoretical inspiration from Marxism, postmodernism, feminism and queer theory. The final section of the book looks at various themes and sub-genres of science fiction..

Signed scholarly essays cover important aspects in the history, genres, movements, films, international developments, and major authors (Russ, Delany, Bradbury, Dick, etc.) of SF. Bibliographies appended to each article. A Blackwell Companion.

Features a series of newly-commissioned essays from experts in Gothic studies that cover all aspects of the Gothic as it is currently taught and researched, along with the development of the genre and its impact on contemporary culture. Provides comprehensive coverage of relevant authors, national traditions, critical developments, and notable texts that define, shape, and inform the genre. Extends beyond a purely literary analysis to explore Gothic elements of film, music, drama, art, and architecture.

Drawn from the online encyclopaedia of queer arts and culture - www.glbtq.com. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics, people, films, and television shows from an LGBTQ perspective. Each entry contains a bibliography.

A team of international scholars explore new thinking in a range of disciplines and present cross-cultural perspectives on recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and postcolonialism.

Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

5 vols. The first four volumes cover disability in an A to Z format, including a reader's guide, comprehensive bibliography and index. Volume five contains a wealth of primary source documents in the field of disability.

Offers accounts of the most important international developments in gay and lesbian cultural history "...written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future."

Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.

"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "

Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.