PMA 1145: Socks, Pads, and Other Stuff(ing): Exploring Drag Performance (Spring 2023): FInd Background

"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.

Contains "biographies of more than one hundred notable figures whose careers flourished in the years before the 1969 Stonewall Riots marked the beginning of the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the United States...Includes biographies and portraits of influential actors, playwrights, composers, directors, designers, dancers, producers, managers, critics, choreographers, and technicians who made their mark on the American theater." [publisher]

Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics, people, films, and television shows from an LGBTQ perspective. Each entry contains a bibliography.

An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. Signed articles by 50 scholars from around the globe address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions.

2 vols. Includes essays that explore the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world.

Offers accounts of the most important international developments in gay and lesbian cultural history "...written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future."

2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.

Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

3 volumes, Contains over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.

Included are more than 600 alphabetically arranged entries on literature and the arts, associations and organizations, individuals, law and public policy concerns, health and relationships, sexual issues, and numerous other topics relevant to LGTBQ studies.

This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.

"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "