Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Mystery and Feminist Literary Theory Reference Sources
Cambridge Companion to American Crime FictionCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PS374.D4 C35 2010Publication Date: 2010In topical essays, this book traces the development of the detective novel and its sub-genres, from 'true crime' to hard-boiled novels, Includes a chronology and guide to further reading,Encyclopedia Mysteriosa
Call Number: Olin Library Reference PN3448.D4 D28Publication Date: Prentice-Hall, 1994"Contains biographies of old and new writers and their memorable characters, as well as detailed entries on contributions to the genre on radio, television, and film."
Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery WritingCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN3448.D4 O94x 1999Publication Date: 1999Provides 666 signed articles on a genre known for its entertaining treatment of deadly serious puzzles, including biographies of mystery writers, entries on major characters and character types, and extended essays on the development of this literature, its subgenres and schools of writing.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary TheoryCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN98.W64 E53 2009Publication Date: Routledge, 2009"Provides overviews of key people, issues, theories, terms, concerns, and methodologies in feminist literary theory. Entries detail the significance of literary periods and fields such as Medieval Studies, Shakespeare, and Romanticism for feminist theory, suggesting how feminisms affect the development of new ideas and intellectual practices." Includes bibliographies. (publisher)
Cambridge Companion to Feminist Literary TheoryPublication Date: Cambridge Univ. Press, 2006Presents a range of approaches to feminist literary theory. Some essays demonstrate feminist critical principles at work in analysing texts, while others take a step back to trace the development of a particular feminist literary method.
Reference Sources for Literature and Film
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
- Gale Literary Sources
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PS21 E537 2004 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 20044 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of his or her times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: Oxford U.P. 2006"Covers British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001 +Publication Date: 2001"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
