Publisher Copyright Policies
What happens to my copyrights for my own published work? Every publisher has different policies in regards to self-archiving and your subsequent use of your published work. The SHERPA/RoMEO database provides a searchable collection of publisher policies--check here when deciding where to publish.
Open Access journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.
Many publishers support one or more open access journals, and their websites are another place to begin your search.
Open Access repositories
Depositing your work in an open access repository is another way to share your research. Be careful to comply with copyright and licensing restrictions when uploading your published work (see "Understanding Author Rights" for more information). Repositories may be institutional, such as Cornell's eCommons, or discipline-specific.
A note on Academia.edu and ResearchGate: Both platforms are commercial enterprises (despite the former's top-level domain) and sell user data. Consider using a trusted open access repository instead. For more on this issue, we recommend One more word about ResearchGate/Academia.edu and Choosing and using academic sharing and networking platforms.
Open Access books and textbooks
Data sharing is increasingly important in research and now often mandated by funding agencies. There are both general and discpline-specific data repositories, most of which are open access. re3data is a comprehensive, global, searchable database of data repositories.
For more information about data sharing, contact Cornell's Research Data Management Service Group (RDMSG).