American Historical Newspapers Online: National Newspaper Collections

Access provided by Cornell University Library. Asterisked titles add a year of coverage each calendar year.
U.S. newspaper titles:
Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1868-1984)
* Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
Boston Globe (1872-2007)
Chicago Tribune (1849-2014)
* Hartford Courant (1764-1998)
* Los Angeles Times (1881-2015)
* New York Times (1851-2020)
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962)
* Wall Street Journal (1889-2012)
* Washington Post (1877-2008)
African-American newspaper titles:
Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
International newspaper titles:
ABC [Madrid] (1903-2010)
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
* Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2020)
* Hindustan Times (1924-2000)
* Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2022)
Le Monde (1944-2000)
Montreal Gazette (1785-2010)
* Times of India (1838-2011)
PDFs scanned from microfilm for earlier years. English. Advertising content is searchable. Search a single newspaper or cross-search any combination of newspapers in this collection.

(formerly Early American Newspapers).
Access provided by Cornell University Library.
Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full-text content from many historical newspapers.

Access provided by Cornell University Library.

Access provided by Cornell University Library.
Offers full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. The Library has licensed access to the issues from 1857-1912. The Library also has a CD-ROM of the Civil War era issues.

Access provided by Cornell University Library.
While primarily devoted to periodicals, this resource also includes some newspapers, such as The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's paper. Individual titles are listed in the Cornell library catalog.

Access provided by Cornell University Library.
Ancestry includes among its genealogical resources 63 newspapers and other periodicals including Stars and Stripes and the LeRoy Gazette newspaper in LeRoy, New York, from 1826-1993. Only genealogical information (obituaries, etc.) from these news sources is available through Ancestry.com.

Coverage varies by title. All U.S. states are represented in this extensive online collection of digitized newspapers from the Library of Congress.

Over 250 small-town U.S. newspapers, many of which can be searched and browsed for free. Time coverage for individual newspapers varies widely.