Newspaper Indexes in Olin Library--U.S.: Ithaca-area Newspapers

Online access: Current.
Browseable archive of issues, July 1996 to date, available. Search of archived issues disabled.

Online browsing and searching: eCommons, 1969-1996. Cornell Chronicle Web site, 1996 to date.
Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 3126 (1969 to 2010)

Print index covering 1989/1990 - 1997/1998
Notes: Cornell-related articles from these four local newspapers: Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times. "We do not include opinion articles (e.g. editorials, letters), reports about entertainment events (e.g. sports coverage), or short announcements of lectures or meetings." -- from the Introductory page in this index

Searchable FileMaker database covering 1999 - 2002.
Located in Olin Library's Electronic Text Center on the ETC10 computer. ETC10 is located in B12 Olin Library, next to the Map Collection entrance. Nearly 10,000 entries. Open this FileMaker database using the shortcuts folder on the desktop.
Notes: Cornell-related articles from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times.

Clippings folders covering circa 1940 to 1989. Print newspaper clippings are filed in folders by subject.
A list of the subject folders is available in this Guide to the Cornell Clippings File, 1940-1989.
Notes: Cornell-related articles from Cornell Chronicle, Cornell Daily Sun, Ithaca Journal, and Ithaca Times. Names of individual persons are not subjects.

"Conservative, contrarian, anti-establishment."
Online searching and full text:
2009? to date: Use the Search box in the right-hand column of the home page.

Notes:
Print publication frequency changed from daily, Monday through Friday, to Monday/Tuesday/Thursday: "The Sun publishes a print edition on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday during the academic year..." October 2, 2015 masthead.
Print indexing: For subject indexing from circa 1940 through 2002, see the ClipFile/Clippings entries above.
The print holdings are incomplete. A list of Cornell Sun print issues owned by the library is available through the library catalog.
Online Indexing and full text:
Coverage on the issuu.com platform:
"entire issue hi res" from the current issue back to September 9, 2015 (https://issuu.com/cornellsun/18)
"entire issue lo res" from September 8, 2015 to July 18, 2013 (https://issuu.com/cornellsun/26)
Mainly first page access only with occasional entire issue access previous to July 18, 2013.
Earlier coverage is available in the project to digitize the Cornell Daily Sun from 1880 through 2000.
Not all years are completed. Browse the Dates list to see which years have been digitized so far.
Microfilm access:
Library Annex Film 1106 (1880-Oct. 1943, Oct. 1946-May 10, 2022). Note: Cornell Daily Sun was not published from Nov. 1943 - Sept. 1946.

Other Titles: Ithaca Daily Journal (1872-1913); Ithaca Journal-News (1919-1933)
Online indexing and full text:

• Available as a single online title from ProQuest (08/09/1999 to date).
• Available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Collection, 1914-2013.
• Available in NYS Historical Newspapers (07/03/1872 to 12/31/1900).

Microfilm access:
Library Annex Film 882 (1872 to October 2023).

Print Index: 1860 - 1876, 1900 - 1914, 1980 - 1999. Obituaries only.

Student-run news source at Ithaca College. Online only. Searchable archive.

[online version is called Ithaca.com]
Other Titles: Ithaca New Times (1972 - 1978)
Print Index: 1989 - 1998 [index to articles about Cornell; see Cornell ClipFile Index]
Online indexing and full text:
February 26, 2014 to date. issuu.com access.
January 27, 2000 to date. Ithaca Times News Archive: Advanced Search
Microfilm access:
Library Annex Film 4383 (1972 - 2022)

Online indexing and full text:
June 2014 to date. Searchable and browseable from the home page.

Ceased publication. Online indexing and full text: 07/12/2009 to 06/11/2016. Was searchable and browseable from the home page. Available in the Internet Archive?

Online indexing and full text:
Started June 2014. Online archive only explicitly covers February 2016 to date. Use the search box at the upper right on the home page.

Microfilm access: Library Annex Film 4648
(The Free Press: 1885-1895) (The Free Press and Sentinel: 1895-1932) (The Free Press: 1932-1984) (Trumansburg Free Press: 1984-2022)
Partially indexed in Index to Trumansburg Newspapers, 1827-1940 (Olin Library Reference AI 3 .T78 W45 2003)