Artstor images now in JSTOR
JSTOR is a growing digital library that includes multiple types and formats of content. Artstor images have now moved into JSTOR, to create a robust platform for discovering and working with both text and images. Images from Artstor collections can now be found in JSTOR, and JSTOR platform features and functionality have evolved to support work with multiple formats of research materials.
You can only download if you register for an account, which you'll need to do on campus. After you have an account, you can login from anywhere. More information and help in using JSTOR images.
French Engraving
Image: Rétablissement de la Navigation, 1663 (Reestablishment of Navigation 1663). Engraving after Charles Le Brun, published in 1752. Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art Collection, Cornell University.
To see the original Charles LeBrun portrait in the Hall of Mirrors, consult the Château de Versailles image collection.
Johnson Museum Online
Campus Art & Artifact Collection
Some of the public art on campus can be found in the Campus Artifacts Collection.
Databases & Collections
The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the library Visual Resources page for links and information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.
Other digital collections Get help with digital images
Digital Collections
- American Memory, The Library of CongressSubject categories: Advertising, African American History, Architecture, Landscape, Cities, Towns, Culture, Folklife, Environment, Conservation, Government, Law, Immigration, American Expansion, Literature, Maps, Native American History, Performing Arts, Music, Presidents, Religion, Sports, Recreation, Technology, Industry, War, Military, Women's History. Also see the Library of Congress Flickr Commons collection.
- Art Institute of ChicagoExplore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
- Brooklyn Museum Online CollectionsBrooklyn Museum's digital gallery contains over 90,000 digitized images from its collections. Users can browse, save, research, comment and tag. Wide-range of cultures, regions, and temporal periods represented.
- Cooper Hewitt Design MuseumOver 30 centuries of design online, from ancient Roman marble to Pre-Columbian textiles, Renaissance drawings, contemporary 3D-printed chairs, and digital code.
- Getty Research Institute Open Content ImagesBrand new in October 2013. 5,400 newly available, high-resolution images from the Research Institute include drawings and watercolors, artists’ sketchbooks, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks and 19th-century photographs of the Middle East and Asia.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogContains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtSelected works of art in the Museum's collections. Also available (in higher resolution) from ARTstor.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryProvides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- POP : la plateforme ouverte du patrimoine (French museum collections)French ministry of culture's site, in French. 500,000 records of objects (subject categories: archaeology, fine arts, ethnography, history, science & technology...).
- Smithsonian Institution Collections SearchSearch archival, print and digital content. Over 7.4 million records with 568,100 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries, including the American Art Museums, the Portrait Gallery, Archives of American Art, National Museum of American History, and more.
- VersaillesThe collections of the museum founded by Louis-Philippe, and still active today, offer a chronological overview of the history of France from the Middle Ages up to the late 19th century.
- Yale University ImagesYale University Library Digital Images Database. Includes: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library Digital Images (especially rich in American literature and Western Americana), the Yale Art Gallery and the Yale Map Collection.