Home
.
 | |
Finding Books in the Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog to find books and ebooks in our collections. You may enter whatever words you think describe your topic, but using the Library of Congress subject headings (LCSH) can also be useful. For example:
American poetry > Hispanic American authors - LCSH search
Hispanic Americans > poetry - LCSH search
American literature > Hispanic American authors - LCSH search
Alvarez, Julia - LCSH browse
Espada, Martin - LCSH browse
Limón, Ada - Author browse
Blanco, Richard 1968- - Author search
Note that academic books may not yet be available for younger or less established poets. Reviews and articles about their work is more likely to be published in journals.
Reference Sources
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latina and Latino Literature
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2020From Chicana/o identity to Caribbean and Central American diasporic literature, from key figures in Latina/o letters to bilingual texts and graphic novels, this encyclopedia explores a variety of issues that are central to the 21st century's American experience, such as feminism, LGBTQA groups, indigeneity, environmental justice, social movements, migration, and US-Mexico borderlands. -
Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PS153.H56 R68 2013 +Publication Date: Routledge, 2012Presents over forty essays by leading and emerging international scholars of Latino/a literature. -
A Companion to US Latino Literatures
Publication Date: Tamesis, 2023In scholarly essays, documents the linguistic and cultural diversity of Latino literary output in the United States, focusing on various literary genres, and cinema, related to Latinos. -
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States
by
Call Number: Olin stacks PQ 7420.2 K16Publication Date: 1989A guide to representative Hispanic writers living and writing in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. Mexican American writers are excluded. Entries are divided into three sections: biography, major themes, and survey of criticism. Each entry ends with a substantial bibliography of works by and about the author. -
Latino and Latina Writers.
Call Number: Uris Reference PS153.H56 L39 2004 (Willis Room)Publication Date: Charles Scribner’s Sons, c2004. 2 vols."...provides in-depth biographical and critical essays on more than 50 Latino/Latina writers. Seven thematic essays consider each writer's works in relation to music, language, feminism and other key topics." Included online in Gale Literature. -
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature. by
Call Number: Olin Reference PS153 H56 G74 2008+Publication Date: Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008. 3 vols."...more than 700 alphabetically arranged entries on individual Latino/a writers, genres, ethnic and national literatures, movements, historical topics and events, themes, concepts, associations and organizations, and publishers and magazines. Special attention is given to the cultural, political, social, and historical contexts in which Latino literature has developed. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography." (publisher) -
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature
Call Number: Olin Library Reference PS 153 .M56 G74 2005 +Publication Date: 20055 vols. Included are more than 1100 alphabetically arranged entries by more than 300 scholars. While most of the entries are biographical, others cover genres, ethnic stereotypes, seminal works, significant places, major historical events, key pieces of legislation, and other topics. -
Oxford Handbook of Latino StudiesPublication Date: 2020, Oxford UPContains essays by leading scholars assessing the current state of the discipline, including chapters on the Chicano Movement, gender and race relations, the legacy of colonialism, language identity, immigration and more.
-
Oxford Bibliographies: Latino StudiesExplores the Hispanic minority in the United States, providing regularly updated scholarly, annotated bibliographies covering a wide spectrum of Latinx studies.
-
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Call Number: Olin Reference PN1021 N39 2012+ (also Olin 501)Publication Date: 4th ed. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2012A revised and updated version of the major reference work for poetry. Includes 1,000 substantive entries on poetic forms, the history of the genre, national literatures, and bibliographies. -
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2015-presentupdated regularly with individually commissioned articles, and in addition includes articles from related stand-alone printed volumes, such as the Oxford Encyclopedias of American Literature, Literary Theory, Latina and Latino Literature, and others.
Databases for Literary Criticism
-
MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
-
Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. -
ProQuest One LiteratureFormer name: Literature Online. Offers a full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources as well as articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual bibliography of English language and literature (ABELL); full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors.
-
Chicano DatabaseProduced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992.
-
Hapi OnlineHAPI Online contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials from 1970 to the present.
-
Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
Primary Sources
-
U.S. Latinx Voices in PoetryFrom the Poetry Foundation, an online anthology of contemporary Latinx poetry.
-
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction This link opens in a new window"Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages." (Homepage, viewed April 3, 2014)
-
PennsoundAn ongoing project based at the University of Pennyslvania committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives. Launched in 2005, it is a Web-based archive for noncommercial distribution of the largest collection of poetry sound files on the Internet. Most poets included are contemporary or modern.
-
Poets.orgProduced by the Academy of American poets, this site features recordings of poets, mostly contemporary and modern.
-
YouTubeThere are many recordings of poetry on YouTube, some read by the poet, some by others, some with accompanying animations, graphics, etc. Enter a poet's name in the search box (e.g, "ada limon") to see what's there.
-
Latino PoetryFrom the Library of America. Includes videos of poets reading their work,
-
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry"Indexes poetry in published anthologies. Contains full text of anthologized poems in the public domain, poetry excerpts from copyrighted works, and citations providing poem title, author, publisher, subject(s), and a list of anthologies in which the selected poem appears."
-
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980A full-text searchable archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Book Review Sources
Subject Librarian
Questions? Contact me, Fred Muratori, via email at fmm1@cornell.edu
Land Acknowledgment
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.