Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources for the Holocaust and Jewish Studies
Encyclopedia Judaica by Publication Date: 2006Print title.
Comprehensive work with more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. 2nd ed. 22 vols.
Holocaust EncyclopediaCall Number: Olin Reference D804.25 H66x 2001Publication Date: 2001Up-to-date & designed for easy access, this single-volume encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust. Essays by scholars from eleven countries draw on a number of sources -- including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc -- to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, & moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, & individuals.- Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish StudiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Jewish studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and CulturePublication Date: 2008Covers communities, cultures, ethnicities, and experiences created by the Diaspora in every region of the world where Jews live or Jewish ancestry exists.
NOTE: The print reference sources listed below are currently in storage due to the Olin Library construction. If you need to consult any of these titles you may request them at the Olin information desk.
Holocaust Literature by Call Number: Olin Reference PN56 H55 H66x 2003 +Publication Date: New York : Routledge, 20032 vols. Featuring 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words,Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by
Call Number: Olin Reference D804.3 E56+Publication Date: 19904 volumes. Illustrated. Signed articles with bibliographies.
Reference Sources for Italian Literature and History
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Italian Literature: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2012Considers Italian literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, looking at themes and issues which have recurred throughout its history and continue to be of importance today.
Oxford Companion to Italian LiteratureISBN: 9780198183327Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2003Alphabetically arranged entries cover major and minor Italian authors,literary genres and movements,literary theory, literary magazines and publishers, as well as entries on important cities, historical events, and political philosophies.
Cambridge History of Italian LiteraturePublication Date: Cambridge UP, 1999Provides a comprehensive survey of Italian writing from its earliest origins up to the present day, including the work of Dante, Petrarch, Boccaccio, the Renaissance humanists, Machiavelli, Ariosto, Tasso, the pioneers and practitioners of commedia dell'arte and opera, and the contemporary novelists Calvino and Eco.
NOTE: The Olin print reference sources listed below are currently in storage due to the Olin Library construction. If you need to consult any of these titles you may request them at the Olin information desk.
Encyclopedia of Italian Literary StudiesCall Number: Olin Reference PQ4006 .E536 2007 +Publication Date: 2 volumes, Routledge, 2007Contains some 600 entries on all aspects of Italian literary culture, including analytical essays on authors and works,articles on critics, themes, genres, schools, historical surveys, and other related topics.
- Italian Novelists Since World War II, 1945-1965. Detroit: Gale Research, c1997. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 177) Uris Library Reference PS129 D55 v.177+ (shelved in the Willis Room) Included online in Gale Literature
Dictionary of Literary Biography ; v. 196) Uris Library Reference PS129 D55 v.196+ (shelved in the Willis Room) - These volumes typically provide 10-15 page biographical overviews of writers, including bibliographies of both primary and secondary works. The texts of these are available online through Gale Literature
- Dictionary of Modern Italian History. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1985. Olin Reference DG545 D55
- Covers Italian history from the 18th century to the early 1980s. Alphabetically arranged entries provide information on `personalities, institutions, systems, and problems of Italy.' Some articles include bibliographies with English and/or Italian sources. Includes chronologies.