LibGuides: ILRLE 3465 / ECON 3465 Bridging the Divide: Labor Market Reforms and Place-Based Policies: Statistics and Data

Finding Statistics and Data Sources

This page has a list of resources - either for free or through a library subscription - that will give you a good starting point when you are locating data for your project. This is not an exhaustive list, so if you are looking for data on a specific subject, or would like some help choosing the best source, please email us at ilrref@cornell.edu to set up a consultation.

For additional data sources not listed on this guide, take a look at our larger Data and Statistical Sources guide or our new guide specifically on data sources for labor economics.

Labor Statistics

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.
NLRB Election Data
Recent election results from the NLRB
Unionstats.com
The Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods. These statistics are provided by the BLS in its annual Union Membership survey, but due with less detail. Be sure to read the background information on Unionstats.com with its commentary on the accuracy of the sample.
Overview of BLS Statistics on Pay and Benefits (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Recommended site for finding authoritative and current information on U.S. pay and benefits. The BLS has various surveys that report on employee compensation. They are described on this site.
Data.gov
Excellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.
Data & Reproduction Archive (Cornell Center for Social Science)
The Cornell Center for Social Science (CCSS) houses the Data & Reproduction Archive, started by the former Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER) in 1982. This extensive data collection emphasizes political and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, and economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers.
ILOSTAT
The ILO's database of statistics, contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and semi-annual data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis. Additional data and tools are available from the site. This database replaces LABORSTA.
Source OECD
Information on renewable energy use, development conditions, and governance and investing issues. Includes access to the World Energy Outlook.

Additional Data Resources

Statista
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
EIU.com
Economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries worldwide and 11 regional aggregates. Included are detailed economic and industry forecasts for the next five years and longer-term economic projections.

Candid Nonprofit Compensation Report
Reviews key employees compensation practices at charitable nonprofit 501(c) (3) organizations based on data derived from the GuideStar database of digitized Form IRS 990 and 990-EZ information.

U. S. Government Statistics

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

Economic Report of the President (Council of Economic Advisors)
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Current and previous years are provided.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Statistics
Find employment diversity statistics as well as statistics on EEOC enforcement.
Federal Reserve System, Economic Research and Data
Find stats on industrial production, consumer credit, exchange rate, international activities from the FED.
Immigration Statistics (Department of Homeland Security)
The Department of Homeland Security provides statistics on legal permanent residents, naturalized citizens, refugees, and immigration law enforcement.
IRS Tax Statistics
Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. See its Digest of Education for stats relating to primary-university education.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics' is the Nation’s principal health statistics agency; they compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the Nation’s people.
Statistics and Data, Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA has statistics on workplace injury, illness and fatalities. It also provides establishment-level stats on inspections and investigations. The latter is a good place to find out whether an establishment is unionized. See the A to Z guide for statistics.
Social Security Administration Program Statistics and Data Files
Find information on health, disability, social security payments, trust funds, as well as international information.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.
UnionReports.gov (U.S. Office of Labor Management Standards)
Source for information on membership and finances of individual unions. From the U. S. Department of Labor.
Annual Reports (National Labor Relations Board)
Find summary statistics on NLRB activity, including decisions, court reviews, elections, unfair labor practices, etc.. (from 1936-2009)
U.S. Department of Labor Statistics Page
Provides suggestions for finding labor-related statistics from the DOL and other government agencies.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Economic Statistics

CEIC Data Manager
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers unprecedented coverage of 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas. EIC also offers 18 macro-economic concepts, and 1,400,000 time series. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered. The CEIC Data Manager provides access to the entire CEIC database from within the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet application. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.

Complete World Development Report Online
A new online, open access, collection of all World Development Reports since 1978 was launched today by the World Bank. The Complete World Development Report Online, which allows users to easily access and search across these World Bank annual flagship publications, is free and open to the public.
eiu.com (Economic Intelligence Unit)
Follow the link to EIU Viewpoint. Provides economic data and in-depth reports on nearly 200 countries, world areas, regions and organizations.
Economic Report of the President (Council of Economic Advisors)
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Current and previous years are provided.

Federal Reserve Economic Data
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data. Using ALFRED, ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data, you can retrieve vintage versions of data that were available on specific dates in history. FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series. With FRED, you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.

Federal Reserve System, Economic Research and Data
Find stats on industrial production, consumer credit, exchange rate, international activities from the FED.
ILOSTAT
The ILO's database of statistics, contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and semi-annual data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis. Additional data and tools are available from the site. This database replaces LABORSTA.
Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey--JOLTS (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, JOLTS collects data on Total Employment, Job Openings, Hires, Quits, Layoffs & Discharges, and Other Separations.
NBER Data
Links to data files available from the NBER or otherwise associated with the NBER research program.
Research Insights (Conference Board)
Research Insights (or Business Managment Research) is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
SourceOECD
SourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD, when complete, will comprise 19 Studies by Themes, containing all our monographs and reports; 19 periodicals online; some reference titles online; and the OECD statistical databases online.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - The Employment Situation
A monthly BLS release detailing the latest employment, payroll, and unemployment figures.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Center for Microeconomic Data
The Center for Microeconomic Data serves to centralize the collection, acquisition, and analysis of microeconomic data at the New York Fed and act as a catalyst for microeconomic research by promoting engagement with the larger academic community. The wide-ranging data, research, and analysis produced by CMD researchers provide insight into individual-level financial and nonfinancial economic conditions, expectations, and behavior in the United States.
U.S. Census Economic Data and Information
See all the surveys and programs conducted by the U. S. Census Bureau that pertain to industries, companies, and business.
Consumer Credit Explorer
"The Consumer Credit Explorer utilizes data from the Federal Reserve Bank of New York/Equifax Consumer Credit Panel...an anonymized, nationally representative 1-in-20 sample of all individuals in the United States with a Social Security number and credit file. The CCP is a longitudinal panel that provides a quarterly snapshot of consumer credit use. Estimates included in this tool were produced by staff at the Federal Reserve Banks of Philadelphia and Minneapolis."

Regional Economic Data Toolkit
The Regional Economic Data Toolkit brings together four searchable and downloadable U.S. datasets: Cost of living index, state incentives, state expenditures, and economic diversity index. Created by the Council for Community and Economic Research. The Cost of living index portion replaces our print subscription to the ACCRA cost of living index.