Skip to main content
Hybrid library for a hybrid semester: COVID-19 updates »
Historic Maps Online
Search this Guide
Historic Maps Online: Home
These are some of the best online repositories and search tools for digitized historic maps.
Digital Map Libraries
Library of Congress
The largest collection of maps in the U.S., and the largest collection of digital maps too. Collection is very broad geographically.
New York Public Library Maps & Atlases
Very large collection, strengths in New York City and New York State, as well as U.S. atlases.
Norman B. Levanthal Map Collection, Boston Public Library
Very large collection, strengths in New England. Large collection of maps related to the American Revolution.
Newberry Library of Chicago
Strengths in Chicago & the Midwest, American Indian history, and the U.S. West. Search functionality is somewhat confusing. Ask for help if you need it!
Mountain West Digital Library
Search "maps" in the Subject facet. A collaboration of the University of Utah, Brigham Young University, the University of Nevada, and other western libraries. Strengths in Utah, Nevada, and westward migrations.
Osher Map Library, University of Southern Maine
University of Southern Maine. Strengths in New England, especially northern New England.
David Rumsey Map Collection
David Rumsey is a private map collector who has since donated his collection to Stanford University. He collected widely from around the world.
Map Search Engines
Old Maps Online
Searches across multiple libraries at the same time, including USGS, NYPL, David Rumsey, LOC, and more. Zoom into your area of interest on the background map.
Big Ten Geoportal
Searches across collections at U. of Illinois, U. of Indiana, Penn State, and the rest of the Big Ten libraries.
Feb 5, 2021 3:22 PM
Login to LibApps
Geography, Maps & Spatial Data
Web Accessibility Assistance