Your Digital Professional Identity
Everyone thinks about writing a professional-looking resume and cover letter but have you thought about managing your online digital professional presence? Many employers consider their candidates' social media and other online appearances as a part of the hiring process. Make sure you are presenting your best, most professional-looking face to the world wherever people find you.
Below are some sample articles about how the business world currently is looking at job candidates' social media presence.
Top Databases & Sources
The databases below provide access to peer-reviewed publications. Search these databases to find articles on digital professionalism generally and in your industry in particular.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a simple way to search the scholarly literature. See also Scholar Citation in the "Academic Identity" page.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals.
- ABI/InformABI/Inform, an extensive international business and management database, contains full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals and standards. Normally used for engineering research, there is also a specific section on "Careers" including current job postings and discussion about work in the electrical engineering and computer industry.
- CHEC (Cornell Help for Engineering Communication)Maintained by the Engineering Communications program, CHEC provides help with professional and academic writing, citing sources and proper formatting. This information is of value to you both during your time at Cornell and beyond.