Reference Sources on Literary Concepts
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Literary TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 .O94 2022 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2022Illustrates the problems, the concepts, and the methodologies that arise when we discuss literary criticism. Around 180 full-length essays written by international experts discuss the theoretical categories and formal structures; the institutions that support the production, dissemination, interpretation, and valuation of literary texts; the identities of the real and textual persons who interact in the study of texts; and the systematic methodologies of literary interpretation and understanding.
American Literature Reference Sources
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Print: Olin Reference PS21 E537 2004 +Publication Date: Oxford UP, 20044 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of their times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.- Oxford bibliographies. American literature.Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2012 -Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on American literature and the American literary tradition over the past 500 years. Includes perspectives on postmodern theory, debates about the canon, slave narratives, comic books, and other topics while inviting trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Cambridge History of American Women's Literature.
Call Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PS147 C37 2012Publication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2012.Traces the development of women's literature in the U.S. from American Indian women's writing to the present day, including coverage of Asian-American, Jewish-American, Latina, and LGBT writers.
Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United StatesCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PS147 .O98Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 1995Surveys women writers across four centuries of American history...Personal, cultural, and historical issues, such as AIDS, racism, sexual harassment, and the Civil War, are examined alongside accounts of women publishing and contemporary literary theory, such as black feminism, lesbian literary theory, and deconstruction. [publisher's description]
Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources on American Literatures and Cultures
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: the Black Experience in the AmericasCall Number: Print copy: Olin Library Reference E185 .E54 2006Publication Date: 2006 (2nd ed.)6 vols. Culture broadly defined provides information on persons, events, and trends. Concludes with a collection of around 35 primary documents, section of "Statistics and Lists," and an overall index.
Encyclopedia of gender and societyCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1115 E54 2009+Publication Date: Sage, 20092 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in AmericaCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ76.3.U5 E53x 2004Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyPublication Date: 2008Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.
Oxford African American Studies CenterScholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps,charts and tables, and biographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and CulturePublication Date: Oxford UP. 2020More than one hundred original and in-depth articles survey the historical foundations of this rich field, showing the exciting and profound new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary and cultural traditions.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latina and Latino LiteraturePublication Date: Oxford UP, 2020From Chicana/o identity to Caribbean and Central American diasporic literature, from key figures in Latina/o letters to bilingual texts and graphic novels, this encyclopedia explores a variety of issues that are central to the 21st century's American experience, such as feminism, LGBTQA groups, indigeneity, environmental justice, social movements, migration, and US-Mexico borderlands.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference E184.S75 O97 2005Publication Date: 20054 vols. More than 900 articles that draw together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
