Primary Text Sources
The Library provides networked access to many more full-text, primary source databases than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and the subject list of Databases.
- African-American newspapers, 1827-1998Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this full-text resource include hundreds of African American newspapers from every region of the U.S.
- American MemoryProvides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the National Digital Library's primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
- American PeriodicalsContains digitized images of American special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles, from the 19th century through the dawn of the 20th century.
- America's Historical NewspapersA full-text collection of U.S. newspapers from the Colonial era through the 1990s, All regions of the country are represented, as are African American and Latinx publications.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
- NewspaperArchiveAccess NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America 1950-1975.Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
- Proquest CongressionalA comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States covering the years 1890 through 1982.
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetDatabase of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12 million pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.
Rare Books & Mss.
That book you're reading doesn't end with the last page. It may have a long and fascinating history. The Library's Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections (RMC) includes 400,000 printed volumes, more than 70 million manuscripts, and another million photographs, paintings, prints, and other visual media that may be a part of that history. Deepen your appreciation of the text and take your research to the next level -- find out what RMC has to offer.