ENGL 2880.106: Shakespeare Offstage (Spring 2025): Primary Sources

From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

"The complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare’s works from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries."

GloPAD is an archived multimedia, multilingual, database containing digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects (such as 3-D images) related to the performing arts around the world. All GloPAD records include authoritative, detailed descriptions of the digital objects, in addition to information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.

This archive includes the personal and professional papers of Edward Alleyn (1566-1626) and those he inherited from his father-in-law Philip Henslowe (d. 1616). As a group, these manuscripts comprise the largest and most important single extant archive of material on the professional theatre and dramatic performance in early modern England, the age of Shakespeare, Marlowe, Jonson, Middleton, Heywood, Dekker, Chettle, and so many of their contemporaries and colleagues.

Provides online streaming access to the 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.

Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of films of current, British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

"Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre's archive, the video content includes 30 video performances. As a supplement to the filmed productions, exclusive digitized archival materials such as photographs, scripts, costume designs, and more provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information" Archive Collection url: http://proxy.library.cornell.edu/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/nath

Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.

Met Opera on Demand delivers instant access to past performances of the Metropolitan Opera's Live in HD series, as well as classic video and audio performances, including radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.