Reference Sources on Fat/Disability Studes and the Body
Routledge International Handbook of Fat StudiesPublication Date: Routledge, 2021Brings together a diverse body of work from around the globe and across a wide range of Fat Studies topics and perspectives, exploring the epistemology, ontology, and methodology of fatness, with attention to issues such as gender and sexuality, disability and embodiment, health, race, media, discrimination, and pedagogy.
Routledge Handbook of Critical Obesity StudiesPublication Date: Routledge, 2021A guide to the breadth and depth of critical thinking and theory on obesity. Rather than focusing on obesity as a public health crisis to be solved, this reference work offers divergent and radical strategies alongside biomedical and positivist discourses.
Contemporary reader of gender and fat studiesPublication Date: Routledge, 2023Contains 20 essays structured around the following key themes: theorizing gender and fat; narrating gender and fat; historicizing gender and fat; institutions and public policy; health and medicine; popular culture and media; and resistance.
Encyclopedia of ObesityPublication Date: Sage, 2008Summarizes pertinent topics in obesity and related health conditions, including molecular biology, psychology, medicine, public health and policy, food science, environmental health, and pharmaceuticals. Based on a theme of "Moving Forward in an Ever Expanding World" articles address topics for a changing society that is slowly adapting to accommodate obesity, including recent lawsuits, new options for medical and dietary treatment, and the importance of prevention in children.
The Body: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: Oxford UP, 2016Dealing with issues ranging from cosmetic and transplant surgery, the performance of gendered identities, the commodification of bodies and body parts, and the violent consequences of competing conceptions of the body as sacred, provides an account of why body matters present contemporary societies.
The Fat Pedagogy ReaderCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks LC212 .F38 2016 +Publication Date: Lang, 2016Covers topics in fat studies, critical weight studies, bodies and embodiment, fat pedagogy, feminist pedagogy, gender and education, critical pedagogy, social justice education, and diversity in education.
Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Reference Sources on Literature and Literary Concepts
Cambridge Companion to the Body in LiteraturePublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2015Charts our evolving understanding of the body from the Middle Ages to the present day, and addresses such questions as sensory perception, technology, language and affect; maternal bodies, disability and the representation of ageing; eating and obesity, pain, death and dying; and racialized and posthuman bodies. Also considers science and its construction of the body through disciplines such as obstetrics, sexology and neurology. Leading scholars in the field devote special attention to poetry, prose, drama and film, and chart a variety of theoretical understandings of the body.
Cambridge Companion to American Literature and the BodyPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2022Examines connections between American literature and bodies from the eighteenth century through the present. I
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory Useful for understanding literary concepts, e.g., Postcolonial Cultural Studies, Multiculturalism, Race and Ethnicity, etc.
